Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Room 450, State Capitol

January 29, 2013

Members Present:    Rep. Jim Dunnigan, Chair
            Rep. Dixon Pitcher, Vice Chair
            Rep. Jake Anderegg
            Rep. Johnny Anderson
            Rep. Jim Bird                            
            Rep. Derek Brown
            Rep. Susan Duckworth                        
            Rep. Gage Froerer             
Rep. Dana Layton             
Rep. Jeremy Peterson
            Rep. Marc Roberts
            Rep. Jon Stanard            
            Rep. Mark Wheatley
Rep. Larry Wiley
            Rep. Brad Wilson
Staff Present:    Mr. Bryant Howe, Assistant Director            
            Ms. Rosemary Young, Committee Secretary

Note:        List of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes .

Chair Dunnigan called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m. and invited the members of the committee and staff to introduce themselves. Assistant Director Bryant Howe gave an overview of committee business and procedures. Rep. Dunnigan further explained procedures to new members.

H.B. 265    Workforce Services Job Listings Amendments (Rep. P. Ray)

Rep. Ray explained the bill to the committee.

MOTION:    Rep. Brown moved to amend the bill as follows:

1.    Page 4, Lines 91 through 94 :    

             91          (5) A government entity or private company that contracts with a government entity
             92      shall post each job vacancy
  located within the state of Utah       on the department's website. For a private company, this

             93      requirement shall be in effect for the duration of a contract with a government entity that uses
             94      taxpayer funds.

The motion passed unanimously.

Tiffany Turley of the Department of Workforce Services spoke to the bill.

MOTION:    Rep. Cox moved to hold H.B. 265 in committee. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. Bird moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Dunnigan adjourned the meeting at 2:54 p.m.

                         Rep. James Dunnigan, Chair