Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 6K bytes

Room 20, House Building
uary 4, 2013

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Jack Draxler, Chair
        Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck        
        Rep. Janice Fisher
        Rep. Keith Grover
        Rep. Mike Noel
        Rep. Lee Perry
        Rep. Kraig Powell                
MEMBERS ABSENT:    Rep. Ken Ivory, Vice Chair
        Rep. John Mathis

STAFF PRESENT:    Mr. Arthur Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
        Ms. Sylvia Newton, Committee Secretary

Note:    A list of visitors and handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Chair Draxler called the meeting to order at 4:13 p.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Grover moved to approve the minutes of the January 31, 2013 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Powell absent for the vote.

H.B. 256    Reauthorization of Administrative Rules (Rep. C. Oda)

Rep. Oda introduced the bill and the proposed amendment to the committee.

MOTION:    Rep. Perry moved to amend the bill as follows:

1.    Page 1, Line 23 through Page 2, Line 28 :    

             23          Section 1. Rules reauthorized.
             24          All rules of Utah state agencies are reauthorized except for the following:
  (1)       R277-445-3(B), Education, Administration, Classifying Small Schools as Necessarily Existent      {   .   }        ; and

(2) R592-2-7(2), Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission, Title Insurance Administrative Hearings and Penalty Imposition, Imposition of Penalties.  

             26          Section 2. Effective date.
             27          If approved by two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, this bill takes effect
             28      on May 1, 2013.

The motion to amend the bill passed unanimously with Rep. Powell absent for the vote.

Committee discussion followed.

MOTION:    Rep. Powell moved to hold H.B. 256 in committee. The motion passed unanimously.

H.B. 280    County Government Reform (Rep. M. Brown)

This bill was not heard.

MOTION:    Rep. Powell moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

                    Rep. Jack Draxler, Chair