MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Room 450 State Capitol

February 22, 2013

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Johnny Anderson, Chair

Rep. Val Peterson, Vice Chair

Rep. John Knotwell Rep. David Lifferth Rep. Dan McCay

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss

Rep. Dixon Pitcher Rep. Dean Sanpei Rep. Earl Tanner

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

Rep. Janice M. Fisher

STAFF PRESENT: Mr. Leif Elder, Policy Analyst

Ms. Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Anderson called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Peterson moved to approve the minutes of the February 20, 2013 meeting.

The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Knotwell, Rep. McCay, and Rep. Moss

absent for the vote.

Rep. Anderson relinquished the Chair to Vice Chair Peterson.

H.B. 316 Traffic Amendments (Rep. Johnny Anderson)

Rep. Anderson introduced the bill to the committee with the assistance of Mr. Dan Fazzini, Citizen.

MOTION: Rep. Anderson moved to amend the bill as follows:

- 1. Page 8, Lines 216 through 217:
 - 216 (A) the traffic-control signal has not detected the operator's presence by waiting a
 - 217 <u>reasonable period of time</u> <u>of not less than 90 seconds</u> <u>at the intersection or stop line</u> <u>before entering the intersection;</u>

The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Knotwell, Rep. McCay, and Rep. Moss absent for the

House Transportation Standing Committee February 22, 2013 Page 2

i age

vote.

Spoke in favor of the bill: Mr. Stephen D. Thompson, ABATE of Utah

Mr. Jay Brummett, Political Liaison Motorcycle Clubs, ABATE of

Utah

Spoke in opposition to the bill: Ms. Rolayne Fairclough, AAA

MOTION: Rep. McCay moved to pass H.B. 316 out favorably as amended. The motion

passed with Rep. Moss and Rep. Tanner voting in opposition.

S.B. 48 Special Group License Plate Revisions (Sen. P. Knudson) (Rep. S. Barlow)

Sen. Knudson introduced the bill to the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Moss moved to pass S.B. 48 out favorably.

SUBSTITUTE

MOTION: Rep. McCay moved to hold the bill. The motion failed with Rep. Knotwell, Rep.

Lifferth, and Rep. McCay voting in favor of the motion. Rep. Anderson was

absent for the vote.

The original motion passed with Rep. Knotwell, Rep. Lifferth, and Rep. McCay voting in opposition. Rep. Anderson was absent for the vote.

S.B. 50 Department of Transportation Liability Amendments (Sen. L. Hillyard) (Rep. D. Brown)

This bill was not considered.

MOTION: Rep. Sanpei moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously with

Rep. Anderson absent for the vote.

Rep. Peterson adjourned the meeting at 9:34 a.m.

House Transportation Standing Committee	
February 22, 2013	
Page 3	
	Rep. Johnny Anderson, Chair