Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Room 215, Senate Building
February 26, 2013
Members Present:    Sen. Aaron Osmond, Chair
            Sen. Patricia W. Jones
            Sen. Peter C. Knudson
            Sen. Karen Mayne
            Sen. Ralph Okerlund
            Sen. Stuart C. Reid
            Sen. Jerry Stevenson

Staff Present:    Mr. Ben Christensen, Policy Analyst
            Ms. Karen Allred, Committee Secretary

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Osmond called the meeting to order at 8:01 a.m.
Approval of Minutes    

MOTION: Sen. Mayne moved to adopt the minutes of February 22, 2013. The motion passed          unanimously, with Sen. Jones, Sen. Reid and Sen. Stevenson absent for the vote.

S.B. 212 Judicial Code Amendments (R. Okerlund)

Sen. Okerlund introduced and explained the bill assisted by Andrew Wright, Utah Defense Lawyers Association.

Spoke in favor of the bill:         Chris Purcell, Attorney, State Farm
                     Mike Sonntag, Lobbyist, Bear River Insurance
                     Justin Stewart, Attorney

Spoke in opposition to the bill: Charles Thronson, Attorney, Utah Association for Justice
                     Steve Sullivan, Attorney, Robert DeBry & Associates
                     Roger Griffin, Attorney, Craig Swapp and Associates

MOTION: Sen. Reid moved to transmit S.B. 212 favorably. The motion passed with Sen.             Jones and Sen. Mayne voting in opposition to the bill.

M OTION:     Sen. Knudson moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.     Chair Osmond adjourned the meeting at 8:37 a.m.

Sen. Aaron Osmond, Committee Chair