Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 6K bytes


Room 250, State Capitol

February 14, 2013

Members Present:         Sen. Evan J. Vickers, Chair
                Sen. Allen M. Christensen
                Sen. Brian E. Shiozawa
                Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher

Members Excused:         Sen. Luz Robles

Staff Present:            Mr. Mark D. Andrews, Policy Analyst
                Ms. Nancy A. Skidmore, Committee Secretary
A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Vickers called the meeting to order at 2:15 p.m.
Approval of Minutes

MOTION:    Sen. Thatcher moved to approve the minutes of February 6, February 7, and         February 11, 2013. The motion passed unanimously.

HCR002    Concurrent Resolution to Reduce Obesity in Utah (S. Barlow)

Rep. Barlow presented and explained this bill.

Spoke in favor
of the bill:        Ms. Michelle McOmber, Chief Executive Officer, Utah Medical                      Association
            Ms. Nancy Day, President, Utah Recreation and Parks Association

Spoke in opposition
to the bill:        Ms. Jackie De Gaston, Utah Eagle Forum

MOTION:     Sen. Thatcher moved to pass HCR002 out favorably. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Sen. Thatcher moved that HCR002 be placed on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously.

2ND SUB. HB 81 Cytomegalovirus Public Health Initiative (R. Menlove)

Rep. Menlove presented and explained the bill.

Spoke in favor
of the bill:        Sarah Doutre
                    Dr. Albert Park, Pediatrician, Ear, Nose, and Throat,                          University of Utah and Primary Children's Hospital
            Dr. Karl White, National Center for Hearing Assessment and                      Management, Utah State University
            Annie Colley

Spoke to the bill:    Robert T. Rolfs, Deputy Director, Utah Department of Health

MOTION:    Sen. Thatcher moved to pass 2nd Sub. H.B. 81 out favorably. The motion passed         unanimously with Sen. Christensen absent for the vote.
MOTION:    Sen. Thatcher moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Christensen absent for the vote.
Chair Vickers adjourned the meeting at 3:03 p.m.    

Minutes reported by Nancy A. Skidmore, Secretary.

Sen. Evan J. Vickers, Committee Chair