Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 6K bytes

Room 30, House Building
February 26, 2014

Members Present:    Rep. Francis Gibson, Chair
        Rep. Lowry Snow, Vice Chair
        Rep. Patrice M. Arent
        Rep. Rich Cunningham
        Rep. Greg H. Hughes
        Rep. Bradley G. Last
        Rep. David Lifferth    
        Rep. Dan McCay
        Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
        Rep. Jim Nielson
        Rep. Val Peterson
        Rep. Marie H. Poulson
        Rep. Kraig Powell
        Rep. Dean T. Sanpei
        Rep. Keven Stratton
Members Absent:    Rep. Steve Eliason            
Staff Present        Ms. Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst
        Ms. Linda Service, Committee Secretary
Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Vice Chair Snow called the meeting to order at 8:12 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Cunningham moved to approve the minutes of the February 24, 2014 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Hughes, Rep. Moss, Rep. Peterson, and Rep. Stratton absent for the vote.

H.B. 131    Public Education Modernization Act (Rep. F. Gibson)

MOTION:    Rep. Gibson moved to replace H.B. 131 with 2nd Sub. H.B. 131.
Rep. Gibson explained the substitute bill.

The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Hughes, Rep. Peterson, and Rep. Stratton absent for the vote.

Tom Greaves, Greaves Group, and Mark Towner, teacher, Granite School District, assisted Rep. Gibson with his presentation.

Spoke to the bill:    Dr. Martell Menlove, State School Superintendent
        Sarah Jones, Utah Education Association, distributed a handout         titled "Teachers Speak Out About "The Public Education              Modernization Act"
        Geoff Leonard, Utah School Employees Assocation
        Tiffany Hess, parent
        Alisa Ellis, parent
        Gayle Ruzicka, citizen
        Brad Asay, American Federation of Teachers
        Peter Cannon, citizen
        Autumn Cook, citizen

Spoke for the bill:    Chet Linton, School Improvement Network
        Ben Horsley, Granite School District
        Jared Sites, Principal, Dixon Middle School
        Terry Shoemaker, Wasatch School District
        Hollie Pettersson, Canyons School District
        Hanifi Oguz, Beehive Academy
        Chris Bleak, President, Utah Association of Public Charter Schools
        Richard Nelson, Utah Technology Council
        Jeffery Flam, education development software
        John Anderson, Dixon Middle School
MOTION:    Rep. Last moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Rep. Nielson voting against the motion. Rep. Poulson was absent for the vote.
H.B. 150    Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Amendments (Rep. V. Peterson)

This bill was not considered.

MOTION:    Rep. McCay moved to adjourn. Vice Chair Snow adjourned the meeting at 10:03 a.m.

Rep. Francis Gibson, Chair