| MINUTES OF THE | |
|-------------------------------|--|
| HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS | |
| STANDING COMMITTEE | |
| Room 450 State Capitol | |
| March 6, 2014 | |

| Members Present: | Rep. R. Curt Webb, Chair Rep. Jeremy A. Peterson, Vice Chair Rep. Jerry B. Anderson Rep. Jon Cox Rep. James A. Dunnigan Rep. Craig Hall Rep. Michael S. Kennedy Rep. Marie H. Poulson Rep. Marc K. Roberts Rep. John R. Westwood |
|------------------|---|
| Members Absent: | Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig |
| Staff Present: | Mr. Joseph Wade, Policy Analyst Ms. Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary |

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Webb called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Westwood moved to approve the minutes of the March 4, 2014 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Kennedy and Rep. Seelig absent for the vote.

H.B. 413 Voter Accountability in Political Subdivisions (*Rep. K. Stratton*)

Rep. Stratton explained the bill to the committee.

| Spoke against the bill: | Roger Tew, Utah League of Cities and Towns |
|-------------------------|---|
| | Seth Perrins, Spanish Fork City Manager and Utah City |
| | Management Association |
| | Dave Millheim, Farmington City Manager |

- **MOTION:** Rep. Peterson moved to return H.B. 413 to rules committee and recommends the bill be placed in interim study. The motion passed with Rep. Anderson voting in opposition. Rep. Dunnigan and Rep. Seelig were absent for the vote.
- **MOTION:** Rep. Peterson moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Dunnigan and Rep. Seelig absent for the vote.

House Political Subdivisions Standing Committee March 6, 2014 Page 2

Chair Webb adjourned the meeting at 9:49 a.m.

Rep. R. Curt Webb, Chair