Room 25 House Building

March 9, 2015

Members Present:                     Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair

                                                    Rep. Patrice M. Arent, Vice Chair

                                                    Rep. Mike K. McKell

                                                    Rep. Michael E. Noel

                                                    Rep. Marie H. Poulson

                                                    Rep. Angela Romero

                                                    Rep. Mark A. Wheatley

Members Absent:                     Rep. James A. Dunnigan

Staff Present:                             Mr. Michael E. Christensen, Director, OLFGC

                                                    Ms. Jennifer Eyring, Committee Secretary

NOTE: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Handy called the meeting to order at 12:25 p.m.


S.J.R. 16           Joint Rules Resolution on Independent Legislative Ethics Commission Hiring Modifications (Sen. L. Hillyard)

Sen. Hillyard explained the bill to the committee with the assistance of Kim Bouck, Executive Director, Independent Legislative Ethics Commission.

MOTION:       Rep. Arent moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 8, Lines 240 through 244


240 (a) accept the complaint;

241 (b) notify the president of the Senate {  [  } and the chair and vice-chair of the Senate Ethics

242Committee {  ]  } , if the legislator named in the complaint is a senator, or the speaker of the House

243of Representatives {  [  } and the chair and vice-chair of the House Ethics Committee {  ]  } , if the

244legislator named in the complaint is a representative[, that]:


The motion to amend passed with Rep. McKell, Rep. Noel, and Chair Handy voting in opposition.

MOTION:       Rep. Arent moved to pass S.J.R. 16 out with a favorable recommendation, as amended.                           The motion passed unanimously.


MOTION:       Rep. Noel moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.


Chair Handy adjourned the meeting at 12:40 p.m.



                                  Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair