20 House Building, Utah State Capitol Complex

January 29, 2015


Members Present:                            Rep. LaVar Christensen, Chair 

                                                            Rep. Fred Cox 

                                                            Rep. Bruce Cutler

                                                            Rep. Brian M. Greene

                                                            Rep. Craig Hall

                                                            Rep. Brian S. King

                                                            Rep. Curt Oda

                                                            Rep. V. Lowry Snow

                                                            Rep. Kevin Stratton

                                                            Rep. Mark Wheatley

Members Excused:                           Rep. Merrill Nelson, Vice Chair


Staff Present:                                    Mr. Gregg Girvan, Policy AnalystMs. Rosemary Young, Committee Secretary

NOTE:   A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Christensen called the meeting to order at 2:09 p.m., invited committee members and staff to introduce themselves, and explained the process of assigning bills to committees.


H.B. 85           Peace Officer Training Amendments (Rep. M. Roberts)

Rep. Roberts explained the bill assisted by Major Scott Stephenson, Director, Peace Officer Standards and Training, and Nannette Rolfe, Director, Drivers License Division.

Spoke for the bill:       Kelly Atkinson           Executive Director, Fraternal Order of Police

MOTION:     Rep. Oda moved to pass out favorably H.B. 85. The motion passed unanimously                         with Rep. Wheatley absent for the vote.


H.B. 107         Political Issues Committee Amendments (Rep. B. Greene)

MOTION:     Rep. Greene moved to replace H.B. 107 with 2nd Substitute H.B. 107. The                         motion passed unanimously with Rep. Stratton absent for the vote.


Rep. Greene explained the bill to the committee.

Spoke for the bill:                   Jennifer Baptista                     Citizen

                                                Blaine Thatcher                      Citizen

Spoke against the bill:            Maryann Martindale               Alliance for a Better Utah 

Mark Thomas, Lieutenant Governor's Office, answered a question concerning the bill.

House Judiciary Standing Committee

January 29, 2015

Page 2

MOTION:     Rep. Hall moved to amend the bill as follows:


1.    Page 9, Lines 260 through 261:      


260 (E) do not expend a total of more than {  $10,000  }  $5,000  for the purpose described in Subsection



SUBSTITUTE MOTION:   Rep. Oda moved to pass out favorably 2nd Sub. H.B. 107. The                                                motion failed with Rep. Greene, Rep. Oda, Rep. Stratton, and Rep.                                                Christensen voting in favor.


The original motion passed with Rep. Greene, Rep. Oda, Rep. Stratton, and Rep. Christensen voting against.


MOTION:     Rep. Snow moved to pass out favorably 2nd Sub. H.B. 107 as amended. The                        motion passed unanimously.


H.B. 73           Nepotism Amendments (Rep. B. R. Cutler)


Rep. Cutler explained the bill accompanied by Rep. Eliason.


MOTION:     Rep. King moved to pass out favorably H.B. 73.


SUBSTITUTE MOTION:   Rep. Snow moved to hold the bill in committee. Rep. King                                                withdrew his motion and the substitute motion passed                                              unanimously.


H.B. 62           Securities Amendments (Rep. B. Greene)


Rep. Greene briefly explained the bill.


MOTION:     Rep. Greene moved to hold the bill. The motion passed unanimously.


H.B. 46           Mechanics Lien Revisions (Rep. M. McKell)


This bill was not considered.


MOTION:     Rep. Cutler moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.


Chair Christensen adjourned the meeting at 4:52 p.m.



LaVar Christensen, Chair