Room 450, Capital Building

                                                            March 4, 2015


Members Present:                Rep. Ken Ivory, Chair

                                                Rep. Steve Handy, Vice Chair

                                                Rep. Patrice Arent

                                                Rep. Scott Chew

                                                Rep. Kay Christofferson

                                                Rep. Justin Miller

                                                Rep. Earl Tanner

Members Absent:                 Rep. Brad Dee

                                                Rep. Becky Edwards

                                                Rep. Keith Grover

                                                Rep. Keven Stratton


Staff Present:                        Mr. Richard North, Policy Analyst

                                                Ms. Linda Error, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.


Chair Ivory called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.


MOTION:     Rep. Christofferson moved to approve the minutes of the February 26, 2015 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Arent absent for the vote.


H.B. 414         Utah Broadband Outreach Center (Rep. S. Handy)

Rep. Handy explained the bill to the committee with the assistance of Kelleigh Cole, Utah Broadband Project. The handouts "Broadband Project", "HB 414 Utah Broadband Outreach Center-Brief Sheet" and "HB 414 Utah Broadband Outreach Center-Frequently Asked Questions" were distributed to the committee.


Spoke for the bill:       Michael Merrill, Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce

Ray Timothy, Executive Director, Utah Education Network

                                    Tara Tule, AT&T

                                    Eric Isom, Century Link

                                    Soren Simonsen, Impact Hub


MOTION:     Rep. Arent moved to pass H.B. 414 out favorably.


MOTION:     Rep. Christofferson moved to amend the bill as follows:


Page 5, Line 135:       After "appropriated" insert "one time"

Page 5, Line 139:       delete "$350,000" and insert "$175,000"

Page 5, Line 141:       delete "$350,000" and insert "$175,000"

The substitute motion to amend failed with Rep. Christofferson voting in favor

The original motion to pass H.B. 414 out favorably passed unanimously.


MOTION:     Rep. Handy moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Ivory adjourned the meeting at 10:00 a.m.


Ken Ivory, Chair