Room 30 House Building, State Capitol Complex

February 3, 2015


Members Present:                     Rep. Johnny Anderson, Chair

Rep. Jacob L. Anderegg, Vice Chair

                                                    Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

                                                    Rep. Kay J. Christoffersson 

                                                    Rep. John Cox

                                                    Rep. Rich Cunningham

                                                    Rep. Brad L. Dee 

                                                    Rep. Sophia M. DiCaro

                                                    Rep. Justin L. Fawson

                                                    Rep. Brad King 

Rep. David E. Lifferth

                                                    Rep. Carol Spackman Moss

                                                    Rep. John R. Westwood


Staff Present:                             Mr. Art L. Hunsaker, Policy Analyst

                                                    Ms. Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary



Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.




Vice Chair Anderegg called the meeting to order at 2:04 p.m.


MOTION:       Rep. Cunningham moved to approve the minutes of the January 29, 2015 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Anderson, Rep. Barlow, Rep. Dee, Rep. King, and Rep. Moss absent for the vote.


S.B. 20              Uniform Driver License Act Amendments (Sen. K. Van Tassell) (Rep. D. Ipson)


Sen. VanTassell explained the bill to the committee.


MOTION:       Rep. Cunningham moved to pass S.B. 20 out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Barlow, Rep. Dee, and Rep. Fawson absent for the vote.


H.B. 110           Motor Vehicle Emissions Amendments (Rep. P. Arent)


Rep. Arent explained the bill to the committee and provided a handout pertaining to H.B. 110.




Spoke for the bill:          Kevin Park, Deputy Director, Department of Motor Vehicles

                                       Dr. Royal DeLegge, Salt Lake County Health Department

Brian Cowan, Weber County Board of Health

                                       Ingrid Griffee, Utah Moms for Clean Air

Kathy VanDame, Wasatch Clean Air Coalition

                                       Dave Spence, Davis County Health Department


MOTION:       Rep. King moved to pass H.B. 110 out favorably.



MOTION:       Rep. Dee moved to proceed to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed with Rep. Moss voting in opposition.


Chair Anderson assumed the chair.


H.B. 153           Display of License Plates (Rep. M. Wheatley)


Rep. Wheatley explained the bill to the committee:


MOTION:       Rep. Christofferson moved to pass H.B. 153 out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Anderegg and Rep. Cox absent for the vote.


MOTION:       Rep. Christofferson moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.


Chair Anderson adjourned the meeting at 2:54 p.m.










Rep. Johnny Anderson, Chair