
1st Sub. S.B.  187

RECLASSIFICATION OF MISDEMEANORS

SENATE   FLOOR   AMENDMENTS AMENDMENT   1          FEBRUARY 29, 2016   1:21 PM

Senator Daniel W. Thatcher proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 2, Lines 29 through 32:

29  32B-4-410, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2015, Chapter 165{

30 32B-4-419, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2010, Chapter 276

31 32B-4-421, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2010, Chapter 276

32 32B-4-422, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 307  }

2. Page 10, Line 281 through Page 13, Line 369:

281  Section 9.  Section 32B-4-410 is amended to read:{

282 32B-4-410.   Unlawful admittance or attempt to gain admittance by minor.

283 (1)  It is unlawful for a minor to gain admittance or attempt to gain admittance to the

284 premises of:

285 (a)  a tavern; or

286 (b)  a social club licensee, except to the extent authorized by Section 32B-6-406.1.

287 (2)  A minor who violates this section is guilty of [a class C misdemeanor] an

288 infraction.

289 (3) (a)  If a minor is found by a court to have violated this section and the violation is

290 the minor's first violation of this section, the court may:

291 (i)  order the minor to complete a screening as defined in Section 41-6a-501;

292 (ii)  order the minor to complete an assessment as defined in Section 41-6a-501 if the

293 screening indicates an assessment to be appropriate; and

294 (iii)  order the minor to complete an educational series as defined in Section 41-6a-501

295 or substance abuse treatment as indicated by an assessment.

296 (b)  If a minor is found by a court to have violated this section and the violation is the

297 minor's second or subsequent violation of this section, the court shall:

298 (i)  order the minor to complete a screening as defined in Section 41-6a-501;

299 (ii)  order the minor to complete an assessment as defined in Section 41-6a-501 if the

300 screening indicates an assessment to be appropriate; and

301 (iii)  order the minor to complete an educational series as defined in Section 41-6a-501

302 or substance abuse treatment as indicated by an assessment.

303 (4) (a)  When a minor who is at least 18 years old, but younger than 21 years old, is

304 found by a court to have violated this section, except as provided in Section 32B-4-411, the

305 court hearing the case shall suspend the minor's driving privileges under Section 53-3-219.
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306 (b)  Notwithstanding the provision in Subsection (4)(a), the court may reduce the

307 suspension period required under Section 53-3-219 if:

308 (i)  the violation is the minor's first violation of this section; and

309 (ii) (A)  the minor completes an educational series as defined in Section 41-6a-501; or

310 (B)  the minor demonstrates substantial progress in substance abuse treatment.

311 (c)  Notwithstanding the requirement in Subsection (4)(a) and in accordance with the

312 requirements of Section 53-3-219, the court may reduce the suspension period required under

313 Section 53-3-219 if:

314 (i)  the violation is the minor's second or subsequent violation of this section;

315 (ii)  the minor has completed an educational series as defined in Section 41-6a-501 or

316 demonstrated substantial progress in substance abuse treatment; and

317 (iii) (A)  the person is 18 years of age or older and provides a sworn statement to the

318 court that the person has not unlawfully consumed alcohol or drugs for at least a one-year

319 consecutive period during the suspension period imposed under Subsection (4)(a); or

320 (B)  the person is under 18 years of age and has the person's parent or legal guardian

321 provide an affidavit or sworn statement to the court certifying that to the parent or legal

322 guardian's knowledge the person has not unlawfully consumed alcohol or drugs for at least a

323 one-year consecutive period during the suspension period imposed under Subsection (4)(a).

324 (5)  When a minor who is at least 13 years old, but younger than 18 years old, is found

325 by a court to have violated this section, Section 78A-6-606 applies to the violation.

326 (6)  When a court issues an order suspending a person's driving privileges for a

327 violation of this section, the Driver License Division shall suspend the person's license under

328 Section 53-3-219.

329 (7)  When the Department of Public Safety receives the arrest or conviction record of a

330 person for a driving offense committed while the person's license is suspended pursuant to this

331 section, the Department of Public Safety shall extend the suspension for an additional like

332 period of time.

333 Section 10.  Section 32B-4-419 is amended to read:

334 32B-4-419.   Unlawful permitting of intoxication.

335 (1)  A person may not permit another person to become intoxicated or an intoxicated

336 person to consume an alcoholic product in:

337 (a)  premises of which the person is the owner, tenant, or occupant; or

338 (b)  a chartered bus or limousine of which the person is the owner or operator.

339 (2)  A violation of Subsection (1) is [a class C misdemeanor] an infraction.

340 Section 11.  Section 32B-4-421 is amended to read:

341 32B-4-421.   Unlawful consumption in public place.

342 (1)  A person may not consume liquor in a public building, park, or stadium, except as

343 provided by this title.

344 (2)  A violation of this section is [a class C misdemeanor] an infraction.

345 Section 12.  Section 32B-4-422 is amended to read:
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346 32B-4-422.   Unlawful dispensing.

347 (1)  For purposes of this section:

348 (a)  "Primary spirituous liquor" means the main distilled spirit in a beverage.

349 (b)  "Primary spirituous liquor" does not include a secondary alcoholic product used as

350 a flavoring in conjunction with the primary distilled spirit in a beverage.

351 (2)  A retail licensee licensed under this title to sell, offer for sale, or furnish spirituous

352 liquor for consumption on the licensed premises, or staff of the retail licensee may not:

353 (a)  sell, offer for sale, or furnish a primary spirituous liquor to a person on the licensed

354 premises except in a quantity that does not exceed 1.5 ounces per beverage dispensed through a

355 calibrated metered dispensing system approved by the department;

356 (b)  sell, offer for sale, or furnish more than a total of 2.5 ounces of spirituous liquor per

357 beverage;

358 (c)  allow a person on the licensed premises to have more than a total of 2.5 ounces of

359 spirituous liquor at a time; or

360 (d) (i)  except as provided in Subsection (2)(d)(ii), allow a person to have more than

361 two spirituous liquor beverages at a time; or

362 (ii)  allow a person on the premises of the following to have more than one spirituous

363 liquor beverage at a time:

364 (A)  a full-service restaurant licensee;

365 (B)  a person operating under a full-service restaurant sublicense;

366 (C)  an on-premise banquet licensee;

367 (D)  a person operating under an on-premise banquet sublicense; or

368 (E)  a single event permittee.

369 (3)  A violation of this section is [a class C misdemeanor] an infraction.  }
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