Chief Sponsor: Timothy D. Hawkes

Senate Sponsor: Todd Weiler

6     Cosponsors:
7     Carl R. Albrecht
8     Patrice M. Arent
9     Joel K. Briscoe
10     Walt Brooks
11     Rebecca Chavez-Houck
12     Kay J. Christofferson
13     Brad M. Daw
14     Susan Duckworth
15     Rebecca P. Edwards
16     Steve Eliason
17     Justin L. Fawson
18     Gage Froerer
Lynn N. Hemingway
Sandra Hollins
Michael S. Kennedy
Brian S. King
John Knotwell
Karen Kwan
A. Cory Maloy
Kelly B. Miles
Carol Spackman Moss
Jefferson Moss
Lee B. Perry
Val K. Potter
Marie H. Poulson
Paul Ray
Angela Romero
Douglas V. Sagers
Scott D. Sandall
Mike Schultz
Norman K Thurston
Christine F. Watkins
R. Curt Webb
Elizabeth Weight
John R. Westwood
Logan Wilde
Mike Winder

21     General Description:
22           This bill creates the Air Quality Policy Advisory Board .
23     Highlighted Provisions:
24          This bill:
25          ▸      creates the Air Quality Policy Advisory Board;
26          ▸     establishes board membership; and
27          ▸     designates board responsibilities .
28     Money Appropriated in this Bill:

29          None
30     Other Special Clauses:
31          None
32     Utah Code Sections Affected:
33     ENACTS:
34          19-2-128, Utah Code Annotated 1953

36     Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
37          Section 1. Section 19-2-128 is enacted to read:
38          19-2-128. Air Quality Policy Advisory Board created -- Composition --
39     Responsibility -- Terms of office -- Compensation.
40          (1) There is created the Air Quality Policy Advisory Board consisting of the following
41     10 voting members:
42          (a) two members of the Senate, appointed by the president of the Senate;
43          (b) three members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker of the
44     House of Representatives;
45          (c) the director;
46          (d) one representative of industry interests, appointed by the president of the Senate;
47          (e) one representative of business or economic development interests, appointed by the
48     speaker of the House of Representatives, who has expertise in air quality matters;
49          (f) one representative of the academic community, appointed by the governor, who has
50     expertise in air quality matters; and
51          (g) one representative of a nongovernmental organization, appointed by the governor,
52     who:
53          (i) represents community interests;
54          (ii) does not represent industry or business interests; and
55          (iii) has expertise in air quality matters.
56          (2) The Air Quality Policy Advisory Board shall:

57          (a) seek the best available science to identify legislative actions to improve air quality;
58          (b) identify and prioritize potential legislation and funding that will improve air
59     quality; and
60          (c) make recommendations to the Legislature on how to improve air quality in the
61     state.
62          (3) (a) Except as required by Subsection (3)(b), members appointed under Subsections
63     (1)(d), (e), (f), and (g) are appointed to serve four-year terms.
64          (b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (3)(a), the governor, president of
65     the Senate, and speaker of the House of Representatives shall, at the time of appointment or
66     reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of members are staggered so
67     that approximately half of the advisory board is appointed every two years.
68          (c) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be
69     appointed for the unexpired term.
70          (4) The advisory board shall elect one member to serve as chair of the advisory board
71     for a term of one year.
72          (5) Compensation for a member of the advisory board who is a legislator shall be paid
73     in accordance with Section 36-2-2 and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Chapter 3, Legislator
74     Compensation.
75          (6) A member of the advisory board who is not a legislator may not receive
76     compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may receive per diem and travel
77     expenses in accordance with:
78          (a) Section 63A-3-106;
79          (b) Section 63A-3-107; and
80          (c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and
81     63A-3-107.
82          (7) The department shall provide staff support for the advisory board.