{deleted text} shows text that was in HB0085 but was deleted in HB0085S01.

Inserted text shows text that was not in HB0085 but was inserted into HB0085S01.

DISCLAIMER: This document is provided to assist you in your comparison of the two bills. Sometimes this automated comparison will NOT be completely accurate. Therefore, you need to read the actual bills. This automatically generated document could contain inaccuracies caused by: limitations of the compare program; bad input data; or other causes.

Representative Gage Froerer proposes the following substitute bill:

QUALITY GROWTH COMMISSION AMENDMENTS

2017 GENERAL SESSION STATE OF UTAH

Chief Sponsor: Gage Froerer Senate Sponsor:

LONG TITLE

General Description:

This bill modifies reporting requirements of the {LeRay McAllister Critical Land Conservation Program} Quality Growth Commission.

Highlighted Provisions:

This bill:

- \ \{\text{requires}\}\text{modifies reporting requirements for}\) the Quality Growth Commission\{\text{to}\}\
 \text{provide an annual written report to the Infrastucture and General Government}\
 \text{Appropriations Subcommittee}\}\; and
- makes technical changes.

Money Appropriated in this Bill:

None

Other Special Clauses:

None

Utah Code Sections Affected:

AMENDS:

11-38-201, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2013, Chapter 310

11-38-304, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2010, Chapter 323

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:

Section 1. Section 11-38-201 is amended to read:

11-38-201. Quality Growth Commission -- Term of office -- Vacancy -- Organization -- Expenses -- Staff -- Reporting.

- (1) (a) There is created a Quality Growth Commission consisting of:
- (i) the director of the Department of Natural Resources;
- (ii) the commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and Food;
- (iii) six elected officials at the local government level, three of whom may not be residents of a county of the first or second class; and
- (iv) five persons from the profit and nonprofit private sector, two of whom may not be residents of a county of the first or second class and no more than three of whom may be from the same political party and one of whom shall be from the residential construction industry, nominated by the Utah Home Builders Association, and one of whom shall be from the real estate industry, nominated by the Utah Association of Realtors.
- (b) (i) The director of the Department of Natural Resources and the commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and Food may not assume their positions on the commission until:
 - (A) after May 1, 2005; and
- (B) the term of the respective predecessor in office, who is a state government level appointee, expires.
- (ii) The term of a commission member serving on May 1, 2005 as one of the six elected local officials or five private sector appointees may not be shortened because of application of the restriction under Subsections (1)(a)(iii) and (iv) on the number of appointees from counties of the first or second class.
 - (2) (a) Each commission member appointed under Subsection (1)(a)(iii) or (iv) shall be

appointed by the governor with the consent of the Senate.

- (b) The governor shall select three of the six members under Subsection (1)(a)(iii) from a list of names provided by the Utah League of Cities and Towns, and shall select the remaining three from a list of names provided by the Utah Association of Counties.
- (c) Two of the persons appointed under Subsection (1) shall be from the agricultural community from a list of names provided by Utah farm organizations.
- (3) (a) The term of office of each member is four years, except that the governor shall appoint one of the persons at the state government level, three of the persons at the local government level, and two of the persons under Subsection (1)(a)(iv) to an initial two-year term.
- (b) No member of the commission may serve more than two consecutive four-year terms.
- (4) Each mid-term vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as an appointment under Subsection (2).
- (5) Commission members shall elect a chair from their number and establish rules for the organization and operation of the commission.
- (6) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
 - (a) Section 63A-3-106;
 - (b) Section 63A-3-107; and
- (c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.
 - (7) A member is not required to give bond for the performance of official duties.
 - (8) Staff services to the commission:
- (a) shall be provided by the [Governor's Office of Management and Budget]

 Department of Administrative Services; and
- (b) may be provided by local entities through the Utah Association of Counties and the Utah League of Cities and Towns, with funds approved by the commission from those identified as available to local entities under Subsection 11-38-203(1)(a).
- (9) The commission shall report to the director of the Department of Administrative Services.

Section 11-38-304 is amended to read:

11-38-304. Commission to report annually.

The commission shall submit an annual report to the [Executive Offices and Criminal Justice] Infrastructure and General Government Appropriations Subcommittee:

- (1) specifying the amount of each disbursement from the program;
- (2) identifying the recipient of each disbursement and describing the project for which money was disbursed; and
- (3) detailing the conditions, if any, placed by the commission on disbursements from the program.

{

Legislative Review Note

Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel}