S.B. 148

28	Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
29	Section 1. Section 36-29-103 is enacted to read:
30	<u>36-29-103.</u> School Leadership Task Force.
31	(1) As used in this section, "school leader" means:
32	(a) a principal or assistant principal; or
33	(b) an individual in an equivalent position at a charter school of an individual described
34	in Subsection (1)(a).
35	(2) (a) There is created the School Leadership Task Force consisting of the following
36	members:
37	(i) four members of the Senate appointed by the president of the Senate, no more than
38	three of whom may be from the same political party;
39	(ii) seven members of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the
40	House of Representatives, no more than six of whom may be from the same political party;
41	(iii) three members of the State Board of Education, appointed by the chair of the State
42	Board of Education;
43	(iv) the state superintendent of public instruction, or the state superintendent of public
44	instruction's designee; and
45	(v) the commissioner of higher education, or the commissioner of higher education's
46	designee.
47	(b) The cochairs of the task force, appointed as described in Subsection (3), shall
48	appoint nonvoting members to the task force, including:
49	(i) $\hat{S} \rightarrow \underline{superintendents}$, $\leftarrow \hat{S} \underline{school \ leaders} \hat{S} \rightarrow \underline{, and \ teacher \ leaders} \leftarrow \hat{S} \underline{;}$
50	(ii) representatives of the governor's office;
51	(iii) representatives of higher education;
52	(iv) representatives of local school boards; and
53	(v) representatives of charter schools.
54	(3) (a) The president of the Senate shall designate a member of the Senate appointed
55	under Subsection (2)(a) as a cochair of the task force.
56	(b) The speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate a member of the House
57	of Representatives appointed under Subsection (2)(a) as a cochair of the task force.
58	(4) (a) A majority of the voting members of the task force constitutes a quorum.