Chief Sponsor: Patrice M. Arent

Senate Sponsor: Todd Weiler

7     Cosponsors:
8     Cheryl K. Acton
9     Carl R. Albrecht
10     Stewart E. Barlow
11     Joel K. Briscoe
12     Walt Brooks
13     Rebecca Chavez-Houck
14     Scott H. Chew
15     LaVar Christensen
16     Kay J. Christofferson
17     Kim F. Coleman
18     Bruce R. Cutler
19     Brad M. Daw
20     Susan Duckworth
21     James A. Dunnigan
22     Rebecca P. Edwards
23     Steve Eliason
24     Justin L. Fawson
25     Gage Froerer
26     Francis D. Gibson
27     Brian M. Greene
28     Keith Grover
29     Craig Hall
Stephen G. Handy
Timothy D. Hawkes
Lynn N. Hemingway
Sandra Hollins
Gregory H. Hughes
Eric K. Hutchings
Ken Ivory
Michael S. Kennedy
Brian S. King
John Knotwell
Karen Kwan
Bradley G. Last
Karianne Lisonbee
A. Cory Maloy
Daniel McCay
Michael K. McKell
Kelly B. Miles
Carol Spackman Moss
Jefferson Moss
Merrill F. Nelson
Michael E. Noel
Derrin R. Owens
Lee B. Perry
Jeremy A. Peterson
Val L. Peterson
Dixon M. Pitcher
Val K. Potter
Marie H. Poulson
Susan Pulsipher
Tim Quinn
Paul Ray
Edward H. Redd
Marc K. Roberts
Adam Robertson
Angela Romero
Douglas V. Sagers
Scott D. Sandall
Mike Schultz
V. Lowry Snow
Robert M. Spendlove
Jon E. Stanard
Keven J. Stratton
Raymond P. Ward
Christine F. Watkins
R. Curt Webb
Elizabeth Weight

30     John R. Westwood
31     Mark A. Wheatley
32     Logan Wilde
33     Brad R. Wilson
Mike Winder

36     General Description:
37          This resolution honors the legacy and service of former Utah Supreme Court Chief
38     Justice Christine M. Durham.
39     Highlighted Provisions:
40          This resolution:
41          ▸     honors former Chief Justice Christine M. Durham for:
42               •     her many accomplishments and awards that bring distinction to the state of
43     Utah; and
44               •     her many years of dedicated service to the judiciary and the citizens of the state
45     of Utah.
46     Special Clauses:
47          None

49     Be it resolved by the Legislature of the state of Utah, the Governor concurring therein:
50          WHEREAS, former Justice Christine M. Durham was born in Los Angeles, spending
51     her formative years in Southern California, Washington D.C., and France;
52          WHEREAS, Justice Durham earned her Bachelor of Arts degree, with honors, from
53     prestigious Wellesley College in Massachusetts;
54          WHEREAS, Justice Durham earned her Juris Doctorate degree from Duke University,
55     where she is an emeritus member of the Board of Trustees;
56          WHEREAS, after graduation from law school, Justice Durham taught law, worked as a
57     research associate, drafted legislation, and opened her own office representing indigent
58     defendants, among other activities;

59          WHEREAS, after a number of years in private practice, Justice Durham was the first
60     woman appointed to a court of general jurisdiction in the state of Utah;
61          WHEREAS, Justice Durham was the first woman appointed to the Utah Supreme Court
62     and served with distinction for 35 years, from 1982 until 2017;
63          WHEREAS, Justice Durham was the first woman to serve as Chair of the Utah Judicial
64     Council and served for 10 years, from 2002 to 2012;
65          WHEREAS, Justice Durham was the first woman elected to serve as Chief Justice of
66     the Utah Supreme Court and was Chief Justice for 10 years, from 2002 to 2012;
67          WHEREAS, Justice Durham taught as an adjunct professor for many years at the
68     University of Utah's college of law, teaching state constitutional law;
69          WHEREAS, Justice Durham is a past Chair of the American Bar Association's Council
70     on Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar, the entity that accredits American law schools;
71          WHEREAS, Justice Durham helped create and lead the Utah Coalition for Civic
72     Character and Service Education and served on the Utah Commission on Civic Education;
73          WHEREAS, Justice Durham served on the American Bar Association's President's
74     Task Force on the Future of Legal Education;
75          WHEREAS, Justice Durham served on the Advisory Board for the Educating
76     Tomorrow's Lawyers Project of the Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal
77     System;
78          WHEREAS, Justice Durham currently serves on the Board of Trustees of the
79     University of the People, an accredited tuition-free online institution;
80          WHEREAS, Justice Durham has been active in judicial education, was a founder of the
81     Leadership Institute in Judicial Education, and has been recognized nationally for her work in
82     judicial education and efforts to improve the administration of justice;
83          WHEREAS, Justice Durham is a past President of the National Association of Women
84     Judges and received the association's 1997 Honoree of the Year award;
85          WHEREAS, Justice Durham served on the governing board of the American Bar
86     Association's Commission on Women in the Profession;

87          WHEREAS, Justice Durham is a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation;
88          WHEREAS, Justice Durham is an emeritus member of the Board of Overseers for the
89     Rand Corporation's Institute for Civil Justice;
90          WHEREAS, Justice Durham received the Transparent Courthouse Award from the
91     Institute for the Advancement of the Legal System for contributions to judicial accountability
92     and administration;
93          WHEREAS, Justice Durham served on the governing board of the American Inns of
94     Court Foundation;
95          WHEREAS, Justice Durham served on the governing board of the Appellate Judges
96     Conference of the American Bar Association;
97          WHEREAS, Justice Durham served on the governing board of the Federal Judicial
98     Conference's Advisory Committee on the Rules of Civil Procedure;
99          WHEREAS, Justice Durham is an emeritus member of the Council of the American
100     Law Institute;
101          WHEREAS, Justice Durham received the William H. Rehnquist Award for Judicial
102     Excellence, one of our nation's highest judicial honors;
103          WHEREAS, Justice Durham received the Eighth Annual Dwight D. Opperman Award
104     for Judicial Excellence from the American Judicature Society;
105          WHEREAS, Justice Durham served for 12 years on the Utah Constitutional Revision
106     Commission;
107          WHEREAS, Justice Durham is a past President of the Conference of Chief Justices of
108     the United States;
109          WHEREAS, Justice Durham received honors throughout her career, including honorary
110     degrees from five Utah universities;
111          WHEREAS, Justice Durham's many accomplishments, awards, and tireless dedication
112     to the judiciary has brought great distinction to the state of Utah; and
113          WHEREAS, Justice Durham has served with excellence and distinction the citizens of
114     Utah in the judiciary for 39 years:

115          NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of the state of Utah, the
116     Governor concurring therein, honors Justice Christine M. Durham for her many
117     accomplishments and awards that bring distinction to the state of Utah.
118          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature and the Governor honor Justice
119     Christine M. Durham for her many years of dedicated service to the judiciary and the citizens
120     of Utah.
121          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to Justice
122     Christine M. Durham.