Chief Sponsor: Paul Ray

Senate Sponsor: Daniel W. Thatcher

7     Cosponsors:
8     Carl R. Albrecht
9     Patrice M. Arent
10     Walt Brooks
11     Rebecca Chavez-Houck
12     LaVar Christensen
Kay J. Christofferson
Brad M. Daw
Susan Duckworth
Ken Ivory
Robert M. Spendlove
Christine F. Watkins
Elizabeth Weight
John R. Westwood
Brad R. Wilson


15     General Description:
16          This resolution honors the victims of the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
17     tragedy by designating the month of April 2018 as #MSDkindness month.
18     Highlighted Provisions:
19          This resolution:
20          ▸     honors the victims of the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School tragedy for their
21     exemplary lives and acts of service by designating the month of April 2018 as
22     #MSDkindness month;
23          ▸     encourages the citizens of Utah to participate in random acts of kindness during the
24     month of April 2018 and report their acts on the SafeUT mobile application; and
25          ▸     challenges other states to claim a remaining month of 2018 as their state's month of
26     kindness.
27     Special Clauses:
28          None


30     Be it resolved by the Legislature of the state of Utah, the Governor concurring therein:
31          WHEREAS, a senseless act of violence was committed against the students and staff of
32     Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida, on February 14, 2018, that took
33     the lives of 17 individuals, critically injured 16 individuals, and caused mental and emotional
34     anguish for the community of Broward County, the state of Florida, and the entire nation;
35          WHEREAS, the victims who lost their lives through this act of violence are:
36          ▸     Alaina Petty, age 14;
37          ▸     Alex Schachter, age 14;
38          ▸     Alyssa Alhadeff, age 14;
39          ▸     Cara Loughran, age 14;
40          ▸     Gina Montalto, age 14;
41          ▸     Jaime Guttenberg, age 14;
42          ▸     Martin Duque Anguiano, age 14;
43          ▸     Luke Hoyer, age 15;
44          ▸     Peter Wang, age 15;
45          ▸     Carmen Schentrup, age 16;
46          ▸     Helena Ramsay, age 17;
47          ▸     Joaquin Oliver, age 17;
48          ▸     Nicholas Dworet, age 17;
49          ▸     Meadow Pollack, age 18;
50          ▸     Scott Beigel, age 35;
51          ▸     Aaron Feis, age 37; and
52          ▸     Chris Hixon, age 49;
53          WHEREAS, the victims of this tragedy lived exemplary lives of selfless service and
54     showing love toward others;
55          WHEREAS, the Legislature would like to pay tribute to these victims in a way that
56     honors the victims' courageous acts of valor, their many acts of service, their kind natures, and

57     the many contributions to society they made during their lives; and
58          WHEREAS, the state of Utah has developed and deployed the SafeUT mobile
59     application, which promotes school safety and access to critical services for school-aged
60     individuals in the state of Utah:
61          NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of the state of Utah, the
62     Governor concurring therein, designates the month of April 2018 as #MSDkindness month, a
63     month for Utah citizens to participate in random acts of kindness.
64          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature and the Governor encourage the
65     citizens of the state of Utah to use the SafeUT mobile application to record random acts of
66     kindness to shine a light on acts of service, love, and kindness done on behalf of the victims
67     and their families.
68          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature and the Governor challenge other
69     states with a desire to similarly honor these victims and their families to claim a remaining
70     month of 2018 as their state's month of kindness.
71          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to the state
72     legislatures of the other 49 states and each member of Utah's congressional delegation.