2nd Sub. H.B. 453 ALCOHOL AMENDMENTS

SENATE FLOOR AMENDMENTS

AMENDMENT 1 MARCH 12, 2019 6:49 PM

Senator Jerry W. Stevenson proposes the following amendments:

- 1. Page 2, Line 33:
 - provides that a performing arts facility may hold an on-premise banquet license;
 - <u>* allows an off-premise beer retailer to sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer through a drive through</u> window, at a drive-up loading area, or at a designated parking stall;
- 2. Page 3, Line 80:
 - 32B-6-905.1, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2018, Chapters 249 and 281
 - <u>32B-7-202, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2018, Chapter 249</u>
- 3. Page 96, Line 2962:
 - 2962 (ii) is not required to comply with the provisions of Section 32B-6-905.
 - Section 38. Section 32B-7-202 is amended to read:
 - 32B-7-202. General operational requirements for off-premise beer retailer.
 - (1) (a) An off-premise beer retailer or staff of the off-premise beer retailer shall comply with the provisions of this title and any applicable rules made by the commission.
 - (b) Failure to comply with this section may result in a suspension or revocation of a local license and, on or after July 1, 2018, disciplinary action in accordance with Chapter 3, Disciplinary Actions and Enforcement Act.
 - (2) (a) (i) An off-premise beer retailer may not purchase, acquire, possess for the purpose of resale, or sell beer, except beer that the off-premise beer retailer lawfully purchases from:
 - (A) a beer wholesaler licensee; or
 - (B) a small brewer that manufactures the beer.
 - (ii) A violation of Subsection (2)(a) is a class A misdemeanor.
 - (b) (i) If an off-premise beer retailer purchases beer under this Subsection (2) from a beer wholesaler licensee, the off-premise beer retailer shall purchase beer only from a beer wholesaler licensee who is designated by the manufacturer to sell beer in the geographical area in which the off-premise beer retailer is located, unless an alternate wholesaler is authorized by the department to sell to the off-premise beer retailer as provided in Section 32B-13-301.
 - (ii) A violation of Subsection (2)(b) is a class B misdemeanor.
 - (3) An off-premise beer retailer may not possess, sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer in a container larger than two liters.
 - (4) (a) Staff of an off-premise beer retailer, while on duty, may not:

- (i) consume an alcoholic product; or
- (ii) be intoxicated.
- (b) A minor may not sell beer on the licensed premises of an off-premise beer retailer unless:
- (i) the sale is done under the supervision of a person 21 years of age or older who is on the licensed premises; and
 - (ii) the minor is at least 16 years of age.
 - (5) An off-premise beer retailer may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish an alcoholic product to:
 - (a) a minor;
 - (b) a person actually, apparently, or obviously intoxicated;
 - (c) a known interdicted person; or
 - (d) a known habitual drunkard.
 - (6) (a) Subject to the other provisions of this Subsection (6), an off-premise beer retailer shall:
- (i) display all beer accessible by and visible to a patron in no more than two locations on the retail sales floor, each of which is:
- (A) a display cabinet, cooler, aisle, floor display, or room where beer is the only beverage displayed; and
- (B) not adjacent to a display of nonalcoholic beverages, unless the location is a cooler with a door from which the nonalcoholic beverages are not accessible, or the beer is separated from the display of nonalcoholic beverages by a display of one or more nonbeverage products or another physical divider; and
 - (ii) display a sign in the area described in Subsection (6)(a)(i) that:
 - (A) is prominent;
 - (B) is easily readable by a consumer;
 - (C) meets the requirements for format established by the commission by rule; and
- (D) reads in print that is no smaller than .5 inches, bold type, "These beverages contain alcohol. Please read the label carefully."
- (b) Notwithstanding Subsection (6)(a), a nonalcoholic beer may be displayed with beer if the nonalcoholic beer is labeled, packaged, or advertised as a nonalcoholic beer.
- (c) The requirements of this Subsection (6) apply to beer notwithstanding that it is labeled, packaged, or advertised as:
 - (i) a malt cooler; or
 - (ii) a beverage that may provide energy.
 - (d) A violation of this Subsection (6) is an infraction.
- (e) (i) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(e)(ii), the provisions of Subsection (6)(a)(i) apply on and after May 9, 2017.
- (ii) For a beer retailer that operates two or more off-premise beer retailers, the provisions of Subsection (6)(a)(i) apply on and after August 1, 2017.
- (7) (a) Staff of an off-premise beer retailer who directly supervises the sale of beer or who sells beer to a patron for consumption off the premises of the off-premise beer retailer shall wear a unique identification badge:
 - (i) on the front of the staff's clothing;

- (ii) visible above the waist;
- (iii) bearing the staff's:
- (A) first or last name;
- (B) initials; or
- (C) unique identification in letters or numbers; and
- (iv) with the number or letters on the unique identification badge being sufficiently large to be clearly visible and identifiable while engaging in or directly supervising the retail sale of beer.
- (b) An off-premise beer retailer shall make and maintain a record of each current staff's unique identification badge assigned by the off-premise beer retailer that includes the staff's:
 - (i) full name;
 - (ii) address; and
 - (iii) (A) driver license number; or
 - (B) similar identification number.
- (c) An off-premise beer retailer shall make available a record required to be made or maintained under this Subsection (7) for immediate inspection by:
 - (i) a peace officer;
 - (ii) a representative of the local authority that issues the off-premise beer retailer license; or
 - (iii) for an off-premise beer retailer state license, a representative of the commission or department.
- (d) A local authority may impose a fine of up to \$250 against an off-premise beer retailer that does not comply or require its staff to comply with this Subsection (7).
 - (8) (a) An off-premise beer retailer may sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer:
 - (i) through a drive through window;
 - (ii) at a drive-up loading area, if the area is contiguous to the licensed premises; or
 - (iii) subject to Subsection (8)(b), at a designated parking stall described.
 - (b) (i) A parking stall described in Subsection (8)(a)(iii) shall be:
 - (A) located on property that the off-premise beer retail owns or has a legal right to occupy; and
- (B) designated by the off-premise beer retailer for picking up pre-ordered items from the off-premise beer retailer; and
- (C) labeled in a conspicuous manner that communicates the purpose of the stall described in Subsection (8)(b)(i)(B).
- (c) An off-premise beer retailer may not designated more than eight parking stalls under Subsection (8)(a)(iii).
- (d) Nothing in this Subsection (8) modifies the display limitations and requirements described in Subsection (6).

RENUMBER REMAINING SECTIONS ACCORDINGLY