## 1st Sub. S.B. 111 HIGHER EDUCATION AMENDMENTS

## HOUSE COMMITTEE AMENDMENTS

Senator Ann Millner proposes the following amendments:

1.	Page 366, Line	11337 thro	ugh Page 36	8, Line 11386:
----	----------------	------------	-------------	----------------

11337	Board of Higher Education;".
11338	{ Section 204. Coordinating S.B. 111 with S.B. 146 Substantive and technical
11339	<del>amendments.</del>
11340	<u>If this S.B. 111 and S.B. 146, Boards and Commissions Modifications, both pass and</u>
11341	become law, it is the intent of the Legislature that the Office of Legislative Research and
11342	General Counsel prepare the Utah Code database for publication by:
11343	(1) creating a newly enacted Subsection 53B-1-501(4) to read:
11344	
11345	<u>(a) a majority of the president of the Senate, the Senate majority leader, and the Senate</u>
11346	<u>minority leader may waive the 30-day requirement described in Subsection 67-1-2(1); and</u>
11347	(b) the Senate is not required to hold a confirmation hearing."; and
11348	(2) modifying Subsections 67-1-2(2)(b) and (3) amended in S.B. 146 to read:
11349	
11350	Senate minority leader may waive the 30-day requirement described in Subsection (1) for a
11351	gubernatorial nominee other than a nominee for the following:
11352	<u>(i) a member of the State Tax Commission;</u>
11353	<u>(ii) a member of the State Board of Education;</u>
11354	<u>(iii) a member of the Utah Board of Higher Education; or</u>
11355	<u>(iv) a member of a rulemaking board as that term is defined in Section 63G-24-202.</u>
11356	<u>(3) The Senate shall hold a confirmation hearing for a nominee for an individual</u>
11357	described in Subsections (2)(b)(i) through (iv)". }
11358	{- Section 205. Coordinating S.B. 111 with S.B. 60 and S.B. 146 Substantive and
11359	technical amendments.
11360	If this S.B. 111, S.B. 60, Advice and Consent Amendments, and S.B. 146, Boards and
11361	Commissions Modifications, all pass and become law, it is the intent of the Legislature that the
11362	Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel prepare the Utah Code database for
11363	publication by:
11364	(1) creating a newly enacted Subsection 53B-1-501(4) to read:
11365	<u></u>
11366	<u>(a) a majority of the president of the Senate, the Senate majority leader, and the Senate</u>
11367	minority leader may waive the 30-day requirement described in Subsection 67-1-2(1); and

11368	(b) the Senate is not required to hold a confirmation hearing."; and
11369	<u>(2) modifying Subsections 67-1-2(2)(b) and (3) amended in S.B. 60 and S.B. 146 to</u>
11370	read:
11371	<u>(b) A majority of the president of the Senate, the Senate majority leader, and the</u>
11372	Senate minority leader may waive the 30-day requirement described in Subsection (1) for a
11373	gubernatorial nominee other than a nominee for the following:
11374	<u>(i) the executive director of a department;</u>
11375	<u>(ii) the executive director of the Governor's Office of Economic Development;</u>
11376	<u>(iii) the executive director of the Labor Commission;</u>
11377	<u>(iv) a member of the State Tax Commission;</u>
11378	(v) a member of the State Board of Education;
11379	<u>(vi) a member of the Utah Board of Higher Education;</u>
11380	<u>(vii) a member of a rulemaking board as that term is defined in Section 63G-24-202; or</u>
11381	<u> </u>
11382	<u>(A) whose appointment requires the advice and consent of the Senate; and</u>
11383	(B) whom the governor designates as a member of the governor's cabinet.
11384	<u>(3) The Senate shall hold a confirmation hearing for a nominee for an individual</u>
11385	described in Subsections (2)(b)(i) through (viii)."}
11386	Section {-206-} <u>204</u> . Revisor instructions.