Chief Sponsor: Carl R. Albrecht

Senate Sponsor: Derrin R. Owens

6     Cosponsors:
7     Karianne Lisonbee
Ryan D. Wilcox


10     General Description:
11          This bill creates the Grid Resilience Committee.
12     Highlighted Provisions:
13          This bill:
14          ▸     defines terms;
15          ▸     creates the Grid Resilience Committee;
16          ▸     assigns duties to the committee; and
17          ▸     establishes a reporting requirement for the committee.
18     Money Appropriated in this Bill:
19          None
20     Other Special Clauses:
21          None
22     Utah Code Sections Affected:
23     ENACTS:
24          53-2a-1501, Utah Code Annotated 1953
25          53-2a-1502, Utah Code Annotated 1953
26          53-2a-1503, Utah Code Annotated 1953

28     Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:

29          Section 1. Section 53-2a-1501 is enacted to read:
Part 1. Grid Resilience Committee

31          53-2a-1501. Definitions.
32          As used in this part:
33          (1) "Committee" means the Grid Resilience Committee created in Section 53-2a-1503.
34          (2) "Division" means the Utah Division of Emergency Management created in Section
35     53-21-103.
36          (3) "Grid resilience" means efforts to provide greater resilience to the state's
37     infrastructure with respect to:
38          (a) weather events;
39          (b) wildfire;
40          (c) acts of terrorism; or
41          (d) other potentially damaging events.
42          Section 2. Section 53-2a-1502 is enacted to read:
43          53-2a-1502. Grid Resilience Committee -- Creation -- Membership.
44          (1) There is created the Grid Resilience Committee composed of the following
45     members:
46          (a) the director of the division shall appoint two representatives from the division;
47          (b) the director of the Office of Energy Development shall appoint a representative
48     from the Office of Energy Development;
49          (c) the director of the Division of Public Utilities shall appoint a representative from
50     the Division of Public Utilities;
51          (d) the adjutant general of the Utah Army National Guard shall appoint a representative
52     of the Utah Army National Guard;
53          (e) the chief executive officer of Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems shall
54     appoint a representative of Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems;
55          (f) the chief executive officer of the Utah Municipal Power Agency shall appoint a
56     representative of the Utah Municipal Power Agency; and

57          (g) the governor shall appoint:
58          (i) one member who is currently employed by a large-scale electric utility, as that term
59     is defined in Section 54-2-1;
60          (ii) one member who is currently employed by a wholesale electric cooperative, as that
61     term is defined in Section 54-2-1;
62          (iii) one member who is currently employed by a rural electric cooperative, as that term
63     is defined in Section 54-24-102;
64          (iv) one member who is currently employed in the power plant fuels sector; and
65          (v) two members with expertise in critical infrastructure protection.
66          (2) The committee shall elect a chair from among the members of the committee.
67          (3) If a vacancy occurs in the membership of the committee:
68          (a) the replacement shall be replaced in the same manner in which the original
69     appointment was made; and
70          (b) the replacement shall be appointed for the unexpired term.
71          (4) (a) A majority of the members of the committee constitutes a quorum.
72          (b) The action of a majority of a quorum constitutes an action of the committee.
73          (5) (a) Except as described in Subsections (5)(b) and (c), a member shall serve a term
74     of three years.
75          (b) A member shall serve until the member's successor is appointed and qualified.
76          (c) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (5)(a), the governor shall, at the
77     time of appointment or replacement, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of the
78     committee members are staggered so that approximately half of the committee members
79     appointed under Subsection (1)(g) are appointed for an initial term of one and one-half years.
80          (6) A member may be appointed to more than one term.
81          (7) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but
82     may receive per diem and travel expenses incurred as a member of the committee at the rates
83     established by the Division of Finance under:
84          (a) Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107; and

85          (b) rules made by the Division of Finance in accordance with Sections 63A-3-106 and
86     63A-3-107.
87          Section 3. Section 53-2a-1503 is enacted to read:
88          53-2a-1503. Committee duties -- Reporting -- Staffing.
89          (1) The committee shall:
90          (a) develop knowledge about grid resilience and critical infrastructure protection;
91          (b) invite, as necessary, presenters with expertise in grid resilience or critical
92     infrastructure protection; and
93          (c) discuss recommendations for state action related to increasing grid resilience and
94     enhancing critical infrastructure protection.
95          (2) The committee shall meet no fewer than four times each year.
96          (3) Annually, on or before November 30, the committee shall report recommendations
97     to increase grid resilience and enhance critical infrastructure protection to the Public Utilities,
98     Energy, and Technology Interim Committee.
99          (4) Any recommendations the committee makes in accordance with Subsection (2)
100     shall comply with national standards that are:
101          (a) developed by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers;
102          (b) developed by a federal regulatory agency; or
103          (c) commonly accepted by public utilities as best practices.
104          (5) The division shall provide staff and support to the committee.