3rd Sub. S.B. 180

MASSAGE THERAPY PRACTICE ACT AMENDMENTS

HOUSE FLOOR AMENDMENTS AMENDMENT 1 MARCH 3, 2022 3:58 PM

Representative Melissa G. Ballard proposes the following amendments:

```
1. Page 1, Lines 23 through 24:
 23
                    requires { a massage business that employs }
                                                                        certain signage and disclosures when a
                    massage assistant or massage assistant
 24
                    { to display certain signage }
                                                      provides a massage service; and
       in-training
Page 6, Lines 172 through 177:
172
             (4) (a) Each applicant for licensure as a massage assistant shall:
                         submit an application in a form prescribed by the division;
173
                \left\{\frac{a}{a}\right\}
                          (ii) pay a fee determined by the department in accordance with Section 63J-1-504;
174
                {<del>-(b)</del>-}
175
                {<del>-(c)</del>-}
                         (iii) be 18 years old or older; {-and-}
                          (iv) provide satisfactory evidence to the division that:
176
                {<del>-(d)-</del>}
177
                {<del>_(i)</del>}
                         (A) the individual will practice as a massage assistant only under the indirect
Page 6, Line 179 through Page 7, Line 183:
179
                          (B) the applicant has completed { the following education and training that meets
                {<del>-(ii)</del>-}
       the
180
       requirements established }
                                       education and training as required by division rule made in accordance
       with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
181
       Administrative Rulemaking Act { +}
                                                 ; and
             (v) pass an examination as required by division rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter
       3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.
              (b) The division shall ensure that the required education and training described in Subsection
       (4)(a)(iv)(B) includes:
182
                \left\{ \frac{A}{A} \right\}
                          (i) at least 150 hours of education and training while :
                          (A) enrolled in a massage school
         using a curriculum approved by the division ; or {while}
183
                             subject to Subsection (4)(b), under the direct supervision of a massage
                     <u>(B)</u>
```

4. Page 7, Lines 185 through 186:

least 6,000 hours and in accordance with a curriculum approved by the division; and

186 {\(\frac{\text{B}}{\text{}}\)} \(\text{iii}\) at least 150 hours of education and training under the indirect supervision of an

- 5. Page 7, Line 193:
 - 193 <u>massage assistant in-training to satisfy the requirements of</u> {Subsections (4)(d)(ii)(A) and (B)} Subsection (4)(a)(iv)(B)
- 6. Page 7, Lines 195 through 197:
 - 195 (b) After an individual licensed as a massage assistant in-training completes the
 - 196 training described in Subsections (4)(d)(ii)(A) and (B) during the individual's training period,
 - 197 <u>the division shall issue to the individual a license for a massage assistant.</u>}
 - (b) The division shall issue to an individual licensed as a massage assistant in-training a license for a massage assistant if:
 - (i) the individual completes the education and training described in Subsection (4)(a)(iv)(B); and
 - (ii) passes the examination described in Subsection (4)(a)(v).
- 7. Page 10, Line 301:
 - 301 <u>58-47b-306.</u> Required signage <u>and disclosures</u>.
- 8. Page 11, Line 310:
 - 310 massage assistant in-training.
 - (3) (a) When an individual requests a massage service that will be performed by a massage assistant or a massage assistant in-training, the licensee performing or supervising the massage service shall ensure that the requesting individual is notified that the massage service will be performed by a massage assistant or a massage assistant in-training.
 - (b) The licensee shall ensure that the requesting individual receives the disclosure described in Subsection (3)(a) before the individual schedules or agrees to the massage service.