Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes


January 23, 2003
Room 129, State Capitol Building

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair
        Rep. Merlynn, T. Newbold, Vice Chair
        Rep. LaVar Christensen
        Rep. John Dougall
        Rep. James R. Gowans
        Rep. Ann W. Hardy
        Rep. David L. Hogue
        Rep. Kory M. Holdaway
        Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
        Rep. Bradley T. Johnson
        Rep. Brad King
        Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
        Rep. Loraine T.Pace
        Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff
MEMBERS ABSENT:    Rep. James A. Ferrin
STAFF PRESENT:    Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst
        Greta Rodebush, Committee Secretary

VISITORS LIST:    Attached to and made a part of these minutes.        

Chair Dayton called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Holdaway moved to approve the minutes of January 22, 2003. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Christensen, Rep. Gowans, Rep. Hogue,
    Rep. Johnson, Rep. King, and Rep. Newbold absent for the vote.

H.B. 76    Truancy Amendments (D. Bourdeaux)

Rep. Bordeaux introduced H.B. 76 which prohibits a parent from refusing to cooperate with school authorities to resolve a truancy problem.

Mr. McKell Withers, Superintendent, Salt Lake City School District spoke to the bill.

The following spoke for the bill:
Mr. Steven H. Peterson, Utah School Boards Assn. and Utah School Superintendents Assn.
Ms. Cheryl Phipps, Utah PTA Education Commissioner

Ms. Margaret Thompson, Parent, Granite School District, commented on the bill.

MOTION:     Rep. Gowans moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with
    Rep. Dayton voting in opposition.

H.B. 169    Process for Creation of New School Districts (D. Cox)

Rep. Cox introduced H.B. 169 which provides a process for creating new school districts. The bill addresses the transfer of school property to the new school district, a tax on property within the new school district to pay for the new district's proportionate share of the existing district's debt, and for the election of new school board members.

MOTION:     Rep. Newbold moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with
    Rep. Hogue, Rep. Johnson, and Rep. Moss absent for the vote.

Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 3:26 p.m.


            Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair