Download Zipped Enrolled WordPerfect HCR011.ZIP
[Introduced][Status][Bill Documents][Fiscal Note] [Bills Directory]

H.C.R. 11 Enrolled






Chief Sponsor: Jeff Alexander

Senate Sponsor: Karen Hale

                  LONG TITLE
                  General Description:
                      This concurrent resolution of the Legislature and the Governor recognizes the success
                  of the University of Utah's 2004 Championship Football Team and its coaching staff.
                  Highlighted Provisions:
                      This resolution:
                      .    recognizes the extraordinary performance of the 2004 University of Utah Football
                  Team and coaching staff for a perfect 12-0 season, including their second
                  consecutive Mountain West Conference Championship, their convincing victory in
                  the 2005 Fiesta Bowl, and their individual and team recognitions, including their
                  top five national ranking; and
                      .    expresses gratitude to the University of Utah Football Team for the positive image it
                  has projected for the state.
                  Special Clauses:
                  Be it resolved by the Legislature of the state of Utah, the Governor concurring therein:
                      WHEREAS, the 2004 University of Utah Football Team is the outright Mountain West
                  Conference football champion for the second straight year;
                      WHEREAS, the 2004 University of Utah Football Team, returning 17 starters from its
                  Liberty Bowl-winning 2003 team that achieved a 10-2 win-loss record, began the season
                  nationally ranked;

                      WHEREAS, week after week the Ute offense, led by Heisman Trophy candidate Alex
                  Smith at quarterback, crushed, dominated, and with its potent, high-powered offense perplexed
                  one opponent after another;
                      WHEREAS, the Ute defense, greatly improved from a very good 2003 season, stunned
                  foes with its swarming coverage and punishing blitzes;
                      WHEREAS, the Utes were motivated by a common goal: to prove that they could beat
                  any team in the nation, anywhere;
                      WHEREAS, as the season progressed with victory after victory, the Utes consistently
                  advanced in the national rankings;
                      WHEREAS, Head Coach Urban Meyer and his coaching staff worked the team hard,
                  pushing each player to be his very best;
                      WHEREAS, Ute team members built on the success of the 2003 season, recognized areas
                  where their play needed improvement, and persistently eliminated all barriers to individual and
                  team success;
                      WHEREAS, the Utes capped the regular season with a 52-21 defeat of rival Brigham
                  Young University, became the first Ute team to win 12 games in a single season, and the first
                  undefeated Utah team in 74 years;
                      WHEREAS, quarterback Alex Smith and defensive back Morgan Scalley were named the
                  Mountain West Conference's Offensive and Defensive players of the year, respectively, and
                  Coach Urban Meyer was named the Mountain West Conference Coach of the Year;
                      WHEREAS, Alex Smith was also named the Sporting News and Sports Illustrated's
                  National Player of the Year;
                      WHEREAS, Smith and offensive lineman Chris Kemoeatu were named First-Team
                      WHEREAS, other Utes named to All-American teams were wide receiver Steve Savoy
                  and defensive backs Ryan Smith and Morgan Scalley;
                      WHEREAS, the University of Utah was the only Division 1 school in America to have
                  two football players, Alex Smith and Morgan Scalley, named Academic All-Americans, with

                  both players making the first team;
                      WHEREAS, the academic honors continued with Alex Smith being named the Football
                  Academic All-American of the Year and Morgan Scalley being named the Anson Mount Scholar
                  Athlete of the Year;
                      WHEREAS, the Utes proved themselves perfect on the gridiron by crushing the
                  Pittsburgh Panthers in the Fiesta Bowl on New Years' Day, 35-7;
                      WHEREAS, Utah's popular and explosive offense, one of the best in college football,
                  was more than matched by its defense in the Fiesta Bowl;
                      WHEREAS, in their 11 previous games the Utes had 24 sacks, an average of a little more
                  than two per game, but in the Fiesta Bowl the Utes racked up nine sacks against the Panthers and
                  broke the Fiesta Bowl record of seven, set in 1996;
                      WHEREAS, for the game, the Panthers were held to 17 net yards rushing, thanks to the
                  74 yards lost in sacks, and 268 yards total offense;
                      WHEREAS, the Ute defense extended its scoreless streak in bowl games to seven
                  quarters by shutting out the Panthers in the first half;
                      WHEREAS, Ute quarterback Alex Smith, who completed 29-of-37 passes for 328 yards
                  and four touchdowns, and wide receiver Paris Warren, who scored twice and made a Fiesta
                  Bowl-record 15 catches, were named co-Offensive Players of the Game;
                      WHEREAS, nose guard Steve Fifita, responsible for one of the Utes' record-setting
                  quarterback sacks, claimed Defensive Player of the Game honors, while teammates Eric Weddle
                  and Tommy Hackenbruck contributed 11 tackles and three sacks, respectively;
                      WHEREAS, Utah's perfect season was capped when Coach Urban Meyer received the
                  Football Writers Association/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award;
                      WHEREAS, under Coach Meyer, Utah finished 12-0 for the year, 22-2 during his two
                  years with the team, and was guided to the first Bowl Championship Series (BCS) game for a
                  team from a conference without an automatic BCS berth;
                      WHEREAS, Utah is the first team from a conference without an automatic bid to
                  participate in one of the NCAA's financially lucrative bowl games, with an expected payout of

                  between $14-17 million for the Mountain West Conference; and
                      WHEREAS, Urban Meyer, his coaching staff, and the University of Utah Football team
                  should be commended for their extraordinary success and for the positive attention they have
                  brought to the state of Utah:
                      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of the state of Utah, the
                  Governor concurring therein, recognize the 2004 University of Utah Football Team for its
                  tremendous success, including its top five ranking in season-ending college football polls.
                      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to the members of
                  the 2004 Fiesta Bowl-winning University of Utah Football Team, former University of Utah
                  Football Coach Urban Meyer, current University of Utah Football Coach Kyle Wittingham, the
                  other members of its coaching staff, and the University of Utah.

[Bill Documents][Bills Directory]