Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes




State Capitol Complex, RoomW025

January 18, 2005
MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. Sheryl L. Allen, Chair    
                    Rep. Fred R. Hunsaker, Vice Chair
                    Rep. Ralph Becker
                    Rep. Bradley M. Daw
                    Rep. Lorie D. Fowlke                
                    Rep. Brent H. Goodfellow
                    Rep. Michael E. Noel             
                     Rep. Aaron Tilton
                    Rep. David Ure
                    Rep. Richard Wheeler

MEMBERS ABSENT:        Rep. Ben. C. Ferry
                    Rep. Ty McCartney         

            Richard North, Policy Analyst
                    Chris Parker, Associate General Counsel
                    Linda Black, Committee Secretary

NOTE:    A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Representative Allen called the meeting to order at 8:08 a.m.

H.B. 185    Utah Computer Crimes Act Amendments (Rep. B. Daw)

Rep. Daw introduced the bill, with the assistance of Rep. Dougall.

Spoke for the bill:    Jim Olsen, President, Utah Retail Merchants Association

MOTION:        Rep. Noel moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed             unanimously with Rep. Becker and Rep. Wheeler absent for the vote.

Rep. Allen relinquished the chair to Rep. Hunsaker.
H.B. 186    Consumer Protection Amendments (Rep. S. Allen)

Rep. Allen introduced the bill with the assistance of Francine A. Giani, Director, Division of
Consumer Protection, Department of Commerce.

Spoke to the bill:    Brad Cahoon, Attorney, Snell and Wilmer
            Eric Isom, Director, Government Affairs, Qwest

MOTION:        Rep. Ure moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Becker absent for the vote.

MOTION:        Rep. Ure moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with
            Rep. Becker absent for the vote. The chair adjourned the meeting at
            9:04 a.m.

                              Rep. Sheryl L. Allen, Chair