Download Zipped Introduced WordPerfect HCR004.ZIP
[Status][Bill Documents][Fiscal Note][Bills Directory]

H.C.R. 4






Chief Sponsor: Jim Bird

Senate Sponsor: Patricia W. Jones

             7      Cosponsors:
             8      Sheryl L. Allen
             9      Roger E. Barrus
             10      Ron Bigelow
             11      Jackie Biskupski
             12      Melvin R. Brown
             13      David Clark
             14      Bradley M. Daw
             15      Brad L. Dee
             16      Jack R. Draxler
             17      James A. Dunnigan
             18      Rebecca P. Edwards
             19      Ben C. FerryJulie Fisher
Lorie D. Fowlke
Craig A. Frank
Gage Froerer
Kevin S. Garn
Richard A. Greenwood
Keith Grover
Wayne A. Harper
Christopher N. Herrod
Fred R. Hunsaker
Eric K. Hutchings
Don L. IpsonTodd E. Kiser
Rebecca D. Lockhart
Steven R. Mascaro
Kay L. McIff
Ronda Rudd Menlove
Merlynn T. Newbold
Michael E. Noel
Kraig Powell
Stephen E. Sandstrom
Kenneth W. Sumsion
Evan J. Vickers
Bradley A. Winn              20     
             21      LONG TITLE
             22      General Description:
             23          This concurrent resolution of the Legislature and the Governor recognizes the players
             24      and coaching staff of the 2008 University of Utah football team for their perfect
             25      winning season.
             26      Highlighted Provisions:
             27          This resolution:
             28          .    recognizes the superior performance of the 2008 University of Utah football team
             29      and coaching staff; and
             30          .    extends best wishes to the team and coaching staff in all of their future endeavors.
             31      Special Clauses:

             32          None
             34      Be it resolved by the Legislature of the state of Utah, the Governor concurring therein:
             35          WHEREAS, the 13-0, Sugar Bowl champion University of Utah football team finished
             36      the 2008 season ranked No. 2 in the Associated Press Poll and No. 4 in the USA
             37      Today/Coaches Poll, both rankings being the best in school history;
             38          WHEREAS, Utah received 16 first-place votes and 1,519 total points in the AP poll to
             39      finish behind Florida with 48 first-place votes and 1,606 total points;
             40          WHEREAS, it was the highest finish ever for a Utah football team, surpassing the 12-0
             41      Fiesta Bowl champion team of 2004, which earned a No. 4 AP ranking;
             42          WHEREAS, the 2008 Utes finished No. 4 in the USA Today Poll, which is voted on by
             43      the coaches, who were required to vote the winner of the BCS Championship game No. 1;
             44          WHEREAS, Utah held out hope for a share of the national title after dismantling an
             45      Alabama team that was ranked No. 1 for five weeks in the regular season;
             46          WHEREAS, Utah, led by quarterback Brian Johnson and an overpowering defensive
             47      unit, blasted the Crimson Tide 31-17 in the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 2 before a heavily partisan
             48      Alabama crowd in the Louisiana Superdome;
             49          WHEREAS, Alabama's only loss prior to meeting Utah was to Florida in the SEC
             50      Championship game;
             51          WHEREAS, the Utes jumped to a 21-0 first-quarter lead and finished the game with
             52      both the most points scored against, and the fewest points allowed to, Alabama in the 2008
             53      season;
             54          WHEREAS, Utah finished the season as the only undefeated team in the nation at 13-0;
             55          WHEREAS, Utah was 3-0 for the season against teams from automatic qualifying BCS
             56      schools, namely Michigan, Oregon State, and Alabama;
             57          WHEREAS, Utah was 4-0 against Top-25 teams, namely Alabama, TCU, Oregon
             58      State, and Brigham Young;
             59          WHEREAS, in their fifth game against a Football Bowl Subdivision opponent, the Utes
             60      beat Oregon State, the only team to beat USC, which finished No. 2 in the USA Today Poll;
             61          WHEREAS, Utah was 6-0 against teams that competed in bowl games;
             62          WHEREAS, Utah's eight straight bowl wins is the longest current bowl winning streak

             63      in the nation;
             64          WHEREAS, included in the bowl winning streak are wins over USC, Pittsburgh,
             65      Georgia Tech, and Alabama;
             66          WHEREAS, in 10 games against Pac 10 and SEC foes in 2008, Mountain West
             67      Conference teams were 8-2;
             68          WHEREAS, eight Utah players were first team all-league selections in 2008, and three
             69      were second team selections;
             70          WHEREAS, Utah is 12-3 in its last 15 games against automatic BCS qualifiers;
             71          WHEREAS, 13 wins in one year is a new school record;
             72          WHEREAS, Utah's 14 straight wins is the longest current win streak in the nation;
             73          WHEREAS, Utah All-America punter/kicker Louie Sakoda became Utah's first
             74      consensus All-American first team selection in school history;
             75          WHEREAS, Utah's Coach Kyle Whittingham, who led the Utes to the best season in its
             76      115-year history, is the first football coach in Utah history to win the American Football
             77      Coaches Association and the Paul "Bear" Bryant National Coach of the Year Awards;
             78          WHEREAS, Coach Whittingham has said, "Our players should be very proud of what
             79      they have accomplished and are well deserving of all the accolades that have come their way";
             80          WHEREAS, Coach Wittingham added, "We felt that being the only undefeated team in
             81      the country should have allowed us the opportunity to play for a national championship. We
             82      believe that if given the chance, we can play with any team in the nation . . . While there is
             83      certainly some disappointment about not finishing No. 1, we prefer to look on the positive
             84      side"; and
             85          WHEREAS, on January 16, thousands of fans turned out to honor the Utes at a parade
             86      in their honor down Salt Lake City's State Street:
             87          NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of the state of Utah, the
             88      Governor concurring therein, recognize the superior performance of the 2008 University of
             89      Utah football team and coaching staff, and for its pursuit and attainment of true excellence in
             90      football.
             91          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature and the Governor extend their best
             92      wishes to the team and coaching staff in all of their future endeavors.
             93          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to the players

             94      and coaches of the 2008 University of Utah football team.

Legislative Review Note
    as of 1-22-09 9:50 AM

Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel

[Bill Documents][Bills Directory]