! The Capitol Complex is closed to the public due to COVID-19. All meetings will be held virtually online. View procedures and guidelines (PDF) for remote public comment and virtual meeting instructions (PDF).

Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Wednesday, February 3, 2010
415 State Capitol, Utah State Capitol Complex

Members Present:        Sen. Dennis Stowell, Chair    
                Sen. Allen Christensen                
                Sen. Karen Morgan
                Sen. Ralph Okerlund
                Sen. Gene Davis     
                Sen. Margaret Dayton

Staff Present:            J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst        
                Ernest Hayes, Secretary
Public Speakers Present:    Ned Pierson, Executive Director, RWAU
                Kent Jones, State Engineer, Water Rights
A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Stowell called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

1.     Welcome and Approval of Minutes

    Chair Stowell welcomed the committee and visitors

         MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to approve the minutes from January 29, 2010 and February 2, 2010.

        The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Davis and Sen. Christensen absent from the     vote.

2.    H.B. 34 Water Storage Projects (M. Noel)
    Rep. Noel introduced the bill.

    Ned Pierson, Executive Director of RWAU spoke in favor of the bill. Kent Jones, State Engineer, spoke on favor of the bill.

        MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to pass H.B. 34 out with a favorable recommendation.

        The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Stowell adjourned the meeting at 9:10 a.m.

Minutes reported by Ernest Hayes, Secretary    

                 Dennis E. Stowell, Committee Chair