TO: Government Operations Interim Committee

FROM: John Q. Cannon, Research Analyst

DATE: May 8, 2002

SUBJECT: May 22 Meeting

Sen. John W. Hickman and Rep. Craig W. Buttars have scheduled a meeting of the Government Operations Interim Committee as follows:

DATE: Wednesday, May 22, 2002

TIME: 2:00 p.m.

PLACE: Room 405 State Capitol

An agenda is included. If you are unable to attend, please call me or Cassandra Bauman at 538-1032.


Sen. John W. Hickman, Senate Chair

Rep. Craig W. Buttars, House Chair

Sen. Ron Allen

Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard

President Al Mansell

Sen. Millie M. Peterson

Rep. Eli H. Anderson

Rep. Ron Bigelow

Rep. DeMar "Bud" Bowman

Rep. Don E. Bush

Rep. Neil A. Hansen

Rep. Neal B. Hendrickson

Rep. Peggy Wallace

Rep. Bradley A. Winn



Wednesday, May 22, 2002 - 2:00 p.m. - Room 405 State Capitol

1. Call to Order and Approval of April 24, 2002 and April 26, 2002 Minutes

2. Utah Department of Transportation Material Specifications - Pipe Culverts

The committee will hear testimony from the Mountain States Concrete Pipe Association and the Utah Department of Transportation concerning the materials used and the selection and specification of pipe culverts.

Randy Wahlen, Director, Mountain States Concrete Pipe Association

Utah Department of Transportation Representative

Public Comment

Committee Discussion

3. Lease of Rio Grande Depot

The committee will discuss the lease situation at the Rio Grande Depot. Representatives of the Rio Grande Café and the Division of Facilities Construction and Management have been invited to address the issue.

Staff Briefing

Pete Henderson, Managing Owner, Rio Grande Café

Joe Jenkins, Director, Division of Facilities Construction and Management

Kevin Walthers, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Public Comment

Committee Discussion

4. Election Law Issues

The committee will discuss election law issues, including presentations about potential issues for the 2002 interim.

Staff Briefing

Lt. Governor Olene Walker

Amy Naccarato, Director, Elections Office

Public Comment

Committee Discussion

5. Adjourn