Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes


January 30, 2002
Room 129, State Capitol Building

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair
        Rep. Loraine T. Pace, Vice Chair
        Rep. Judy Buffmire
        Rep. James A. Ferrin
        Rep. James R. Gowans
        Rep. David L. Hogue
        Rep. Bradley T. Johnson
        Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold        
        Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff
        Rep. Matt Throckmorton
        Rep. A. Lamont Tyler
MEMBERS ABSENT:    Rep. Jeff Alexander
        Rep. Duane Bourdeaux        
STAFF PRESENT:    Constance C. Steffen, Research Analyst
        Greta Rodebush, Committee Secretary

VISITORS LIST:    Attached to and made a part of these minutes.        

Chair Pace called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Dayton moved to approve the minutes of January 28, 2002. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Hogue, Rep. Johnson, and Rep. Shurtliff absent for the vote.

H.B. 189    Retention of Educator Licenses (M. Throckmorton)

MOTION:    Rep. Throckmorton moved to adopt, in title and body, 1st Sub. H.B. 189. The motion passed with Rep. Buffmire, Rep. Gowans, and Rep. Tyler voting in opposition.

MOTION:    Rep. Throckmorton moved to proceed to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed unanimously.

H.B. 213    Classroom Amplification (D. Hogue)

Rep. Hogue introduced H.B. 213 which requires the state superintendent of public instruction to conduct a study on the use of classroom amplification devices.

Mr. Kim Burningham, Utah State Board of Education, spoke to the bill.

The following spoke in favor of the bill:
Mr. Jeremiah Edwards, Teacher, Rosecreek Elementary School, 4th grade.
Ms. Jennifer Howell, Legislative Coalition for People with Disabilities
Ms. Claudia Anderson, Audio Enhancement

MOTION:    Rep. Buffmire moved to pass the bill out favorably.

MOTION:    Rep. Tyler moved to end the debate. The motion passed unanimously with
    Rep. Throckmorton absent for the vote.

    A vote was taken on Rep. Buffmire's motion. The motion passed with
    Rep. Ferrin, Rep. Johnson, Rep. Newbold, and Rep. Dayton voting in opposition
    and Rep. Throckmorton absent for the vote.

MOTION:    Rep. Tyler moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep Throckmorton absent for the vote.        

            Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair