Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes


January 29, 2003
Room 303, State Capitol Building

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair
        Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold, Vice Chair
        Rep. LaVar Christensen
        Rep. John Dougall
        Rep. James A. Ferrin
        Rep. James R. Gowans
        Rep. Ann W. Hardy
        Rep. David L. Hogue
        Rep. Kory M. Holdaway
        Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
        Rep. Bradley T. Johnson
        Rep. Brad King
        Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
        Rep. Loraine T.Pace
        Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff
STAFF PRESENT:    Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst
        Greta Rodebush, Committee Secretary

VISITORS LIST:    Attached to and made a part of these minutes.        

Chair Dayton called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Pace moved to approve the minutes of January 27, 2003. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Ferrin, Rep. Hogue, Rep. Hughes, Rep. Moss,
    Rep. Shurtliff, and Rep. Newbold absent for the vote.

H.B. 170    Public Education Capital Outlay Act Amendments (D. Cox)

Rep. Cox introduced H.B. 170 which specifies criteria for the receipt of state school building funds from the capital outlay foundation program and the amount of money a school district may receive. This bill essentially changes capital outlay funding from block funding to per pupil funding. Rep. Cox was assisted by Mr. Larry Newton, School Finance Director, State Office of Education.

Mr. Bruce Williams, Assistant Superintendent, Davis School District spoke to the bill.
Mr. Kirk Wright, Superintendent, Juab School District commented on the bill. He felt that the bill needed some modifications.

MOTION:    Rep. Ferrin moved to proceed to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. King absent for the vote.

H.B. 53    School Building Size Limitation (D. Cox)

Rep. Cox introduced H.B. 53 which establishes maximum size standards for school buildings constructed by school districts receiving state capital outlay monies.

Mr. Steven H. Peterson, Utah School Boards Association and Utah School Superintendents Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.
Mr. Greg Fredde, President, Utah Mining Association, commented on the bill.
Mr. Andrew Parker, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:    Rep. Newbold moved to adjourn. The motion passed with Rep. Christensen,
    Rep. Dougall, Rep. Holdaway, and Rep. Dayton voting in opposition.
    Rep. Johnson and Rep. King were absent for the vote.

Rep. Dayton adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m.


            Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair