Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 4K bytes



Room 225 State Capitol

Tuesday, January 21 , 2003

Members Present:    Rep. DeMar "Bud" Bowman, Chair
            Rep. Douglas C. Aagard, Vice Chair
            Rep. Duane Bourdeaux
            Rep. LaVar Christensen
            Rep. Brad Dee
            Rep. Wayne A. Harper
            Rep. Patricia W. Jones
            Rep. David Litvak
            Rep. Brent D. Parker
            Rep. Peggy Wallace

Members Absent:    
Rep. Mike Morley

Staff Present:
        Ms. Chyleen A. Arbon, Policy Analyst
            Ms. Rachel Error, House Secretary    

Note:    A list of others present will be filed with committee minutes.

Chair Bowman called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

H.B. 47    Fire Prevention Amendments (J. Murray)

Explained the bill:    Rep. Murray
                Gary Wise, State Fire Marshall

Spoke against the bill:    Gary Bowen, citizen

MOTION:    Rep. Jones moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed, with Rep. Christensen and Rep. Harper voting in opposition.

H.B. 74    Unauthorized Entry on School Bus Prohibited (N. Hendrickson)

MOTION:    Rep. Jones moved to amend the bill as follows:

1.    Page 1, Line 26:    After Line 26 insert:
        "(i) is not a peace officer acting within the scope of his or her authority as a peace officer;"

2.    Page 1, Line 27:    Delete "(i)" and insert "(ii)"

3.    Page 2, Line 29:    Delete "(ii)" and insert "(iii)"

4.    Page 2, Line 31:    Delete "(iii)" and insert "(iv)"

The motion passed unanimously.

Explained the bill:    Rep. Hendrickson.

Spoke for the bill:    Brad Harmon, Salt Lake County Sheriff
                Tom Given, Granite School District
                Geoff Leonard, Utah School Employees Assoc.

MOTION:    Rep. Bourdeaux moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended.

MOTION:    Rep. Christensen moved to further amend the amended bill.

The amendment was longer than 15 words. Rep. Christensen withdrew his motion.

The original motion to pass the bill out favorably as amended passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. Harper moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Bowman adjourned the meeting at 3:15 p.m.

Rep. DeMar “Bud” Bowman, Chair