Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 4K bytes


January 29, 2004
Room 129, State Capitol Building

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair
        Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold, Vice Chair
        Rep. LaVar Christensen
        Rep. John Dougall
        Rep. James A. Ferrin
        Rep. James R. Gowans
        Rep. Ann W. Hardy
        Rep. Kory M. Holdaway
        Rep. David L. Hogue
        Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
        Rep. Bradley T. Johnson
        Rep. Brad King
        Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
        Rep. Loraine T. Pace
        Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff    
STAFF PRESENT:    Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst
        Cindy Baker, Committee Secretary

Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Vice Chair Newbold called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m. and welcomed committee members.

MOTION:    Rep. Hardy moved to approve the minutes of January 27, 2004. The motion
    passed unanimously with Rep. Chistensen, Rep. Dougall, Rep. Ferrin,
    Rep. Hughes, Rep. Johnson and Rep. Shurtliff absent for the vote.

H.B. 43    No Child Left Behind Opt Out (Rep. M. Dayton)

    Rep. Dayton stated the bill opts the state out of the federal No Child Left Behind
    Act (NCLB).
    Rep. Dayton introduced Associate Superintendent Patti Harrington, Utah State     Office of Education, who distributed and reviewed a handout on NCLB.
    Rep. Dayton also introduced Superintendent Barry Newbold, who commented
    on NCLB.

Steven O. Laing, USOE, spoke to the bill.

The following spoke in opposition to the bill:

Doug Nelson, Salt Lake City School Board
Cheryl Phipps, Utah Parent Teacher Association
John deJong, Salt Lake City School Board
Charles Hausman, Salt Lake City School District

MOTION:    Rep. Pace moved to pass the bill out favorably.

MOTION:    Rep. Ferrin moved to end debate. The motion passed unanimously.

A vote was taken on Rep. Paces's motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Christensen noted that the Legislature will continue to study the fiscal impacts of opting out of NCLB.

MOTION:    Rep. Hogue moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Newbold adjourned the meeting at 10:00 A.M.

            ____________________________                 Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair