Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes




Room 225 - State Capitol Building

February 10, 2004

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. Stephen H. Urquhart, Chair    
                    Rep. Glenn A. Donnelson, Vice Chair
                    Rep. Sheryl L. Allen
                    Rep. Ralph Becker
                    Rep. Chad E. Bennion
                    Rep. Brent H. Goodfellow
                    Rep. Ty McCartney
                    Rep. Michael E. Noel             
                    Rep. Gordon E. Snow
Rep. Michael R. Styler
                    Rep. David Ure

Rep. Greg J. Curtis                    

            Richard North, Policy Analyst
                    Cherri White, Committee Secretary        

NOTE:    A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

    Representative Donnelson called the meeting to order at 4:10 P.M. and called for a motion to approve the minutes of February 4, 2004.

MOTION:    Representative Ure moved to approve the minutes of February 4, 2004. The motion passed unanimously with Representatives Allen, Curtis, McCartney, Noel, and Styler absent for the vote.

    Representative Donnelson informed the committee that H.B. 216 would not hear the bill at this meeting.

H.B. 145    Approval Required for Disposal of Radioactive Waste (Rep. S. Urquhart)

    The sponsor introduced the bill and explained its intent. Representative Urquhart also addressed several proposed amendments that had been suggested by individuals. (see handout)

    Bill Sinclair, Deputy Director, Department of Environmental Quality, addressed questions from the committee.

Speaking in favor of the bill:

        Claire Geddes, Utah Legislative Watch
        Jeff Salt, Audubon

        Lisa Watts-Baskin, Concerned Citizen
        Jason Groenewold, HEAL Utah

Speaking against the bill:

        Tim Barney, Vice President, Envirocare
        Blaine Howard, Concerned Citizen
        Tye Rogers, Envirocare
        Tom Bingham, Utah Manufacturers Association

MOTION:    Representative Allen moved the amend:

1.     Page 2, Line 46:    After Line 46 insert "(d) "Special nuclear material" has the same meaning as defined in the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, 42 U.S.C. 2014."

2.    Page 3, Line 83:    After" amendment.];" delete "or"

3.    Page 4, Line 92:    After "disposed of" insert "; or
        (iii) special nuclear material"

    Representative Bennion moved to amend:

1.    Page 2, Line 35:    After line 35 insert "(b) "Class A low-level radioactive waste" means low-level radioactive waste, as defined in Subsection 19-3-102(8), which is not class B and class C low-level radioactive waste, as defined in Subsection 19-3-102(4)."

        Renumber remaining sections accordingly

2.    Page 4, Line 92:    After line 92 insert "(5) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(c)(ii), a radioactive waste facility which, prior to January 1, 2004, has received a radioactive waste license to receive, transfer, store, decay in storage, treat, or dispose of class A low-level radioactive waste, is not subject to the requirements of Subsections (3)(c) and (d) for any application to amend the existing license if the application requests approval to receive, transfer, store, decay in storage, treat, or dispose of class A low-level radioactive waste."

Renumber remaining sections accordingly

    Representative Ure moved to adjourn. The motion passed 7-4-1 with Representatives Allen, Bennion, Noel, Snow, Styler, and Donnelson voting in favor of the motion; Representatives Becker, Goodfellow, McCartney and Urquhart voting against the motion and Representative Curtis absent for the vote. The meeting adjourned at 5:50 p.m.

                              Rep. Stephen H. Urquhart, Chair