Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes

                    MINUTES OF THE HOUSE
Room 225 - State Capitol Building

February 16, 2004

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. David N. Cox, Chair
                    Rep. Peggy Wallace, Vice Chair            
                    Rep. Brent H. Goodfellow
                    Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
                    Rep. Dana C. Love
                    Rep. Steven R. Mascaro
                    Rep. Karen W. Morgan                
                    Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff

        Rep. Jeff Alexander
STAFF PRESENT:            Arthur L.Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
                    Greta Rodebush, Committee Secretary

Note:     A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Cox called the meeting to order at 8:08 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Wallace moved to approve the minutes of February 10, 2004. The motion         passed unanimously with Rep. Hughes, Rep. Goodfellow, and Rep. Mascaro         absent for the vote.

H.J.R. 23    Resolution Urging Study of Incentives for Film Industry Production in Utah
        (Rep. S. Allen)

Rep. Allen introduced the bill. She was assisted by Leigh Vonderesch, Utah Film Commission.

Spoke in favor of the bill:    Anne Sward Hansen, President, Screen Actors Guild
                Robin Riggs, Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce
                Bryan Clifton, Redman Morris

MOTION:    Rep. Shurtliff moved to pass the resolution out favorably. The motion passed         unanimously with Rep. Mascaro absent for the vote.

MOTION:    Rep. Goodfellow moved to place the resolution on the Consent Calendar. The         motion passed unanimously with Rep. Mascaro absent for the vote.

S.B. 152    Division of Community Development Name Change (Sen. S. Jenkins)

Sen. Jenkins introduced the bill.

MOTION:    Rep. Morgan moved to pass the bill out favorably and place it on the Consent         Calendar. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Cox relinquished the chair to Vice Chair Wallace at 8:40 a.m.

1st Substitute S.B. 44    Child Care Centers Regulations (Sen. P. Hellewell)

Rep. Cox introduced the bill.

Spoke to the bill:    Iona Thraen, Department of Health

Spoke for the bill:    Johnny Anderson, Executive Director, Utah Child Care Association

MOTION:    Rep. Hughes moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with
        Rep. Goodfellow voting in opposition.

Chair Cox resumed the chair at 9:02 a.m.

H.B. 150    Workers' Compensation - Fire Department Employees (Rep. J. Murray)

Rep. Murray introduced the bill. He was assisted by James Judd, Fire Fighters Association.
Handouts were distributed to the committee.

Spoke to the bill: Paul Rogers, Workman's Compensation Fund

Spoke against the bill: David Smart, Utah Manufacturers Association

MOTION:    Rep. Wallace moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with
        Rep. Hughes voting in opposition and Rep. Love absent for the vote.

MOTION:    Rep. Goodfellow moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with
        Rep. Love absent for the vote.

Chair Cox adjourned the meeting 9:27 a.m.

                                    _____________________                                     Rep. David N. Cox, Chair