Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes

                    MINUTES OF THE HOUSE
Room 225 - State Capitol Building

February 25, 2004

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. David N. Cox, Chair
                    Rep. Peggy Wallace, Vice Chair            
                    Rep. Jeff Alexander
                    Rep. Brent H. Goodfellow
                    Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
                    Rep. Dana C. Love
                    Rep. Steven R. Mascaro
                    Rep. Karen W. Morgan
                    Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff                

STAFF PRESENT:            Arthur L.Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
                    Greta Rodebush, Committee Secretary

Note:     A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Vice Chair Wallace called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Shurtliff moved to approve the minutes for February 23, 2004. The motion
        passed unanimously with Rep. Alexander, Rep. Hughes, Rep. Goodfellow,
        Rep. Love, and Rep. Morgan absent for the vote.

S.B. 165    Workers' Compensation Amendments (Sen. C. Bramble)

Senator Curtis S. Bramble introduced the bill.

Spoke in favor of the bill:    Tom Bingham, President, Utah Manufacturers' Association,
                    Utah Business Coalition

                Ron Gardner, Vice President, Fred A. Moreton & Company
                Sam Clark, President, Dale Barton Agency

Spoke against the bill:    Chuck Eddy, Director, Citizen Advocate Corporation
                Gary R. Thorup, Holme Roberts & Owen LLP,
                    Property & Casualty Insurer's Association of America                 Brian Farr, Governor's Office

MOTION:    Rep. Shurtliff moved to pass the bill out favorably.

MOTION:    Rep. Love moved to adjourn. The motion passed with Rep. Hughes,
        Rep. Goodfellow, Rep. Shurtliff, and Rep. Wallace voting in opposition.

Vice Chair Wallace adjourned the meeting at 9:05 a.m.


                                _______________________                                      Rep. David N. Cox, Chair