Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 4K bytes


January 18, 2005
Room W135, State Capitol Complex

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair
        Rep. LaVar Christensen, Vice Chair
        Rep. Ron Bigelow
Rep. Duane Bourdeax
        Rep. John Dougall
        Rep. James A. Ferrin
        Rep. James R. Gowans
        Rep. David L. Hogue
        Rep. Kory M. Holdaway
        Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
        Rep. Bradley T. Johnson
        Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
        Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold
        Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff
        Rep. Stephen Urquhart
    Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst
        Cindy Baker, Committee Secretary

Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Chair Dayton called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. and welcomed committee members. The members were asked to introduce themselves to the public. Rep. Moss was called on to give a one minute lesson on grammer.

H.B. 43    School Land Trust Program Funding Amendments ( Rep. Urquhart )

Rep. Urquhart said the bill removes a cap on School Land Trust Funds distributed to schools.

The following spoke in support of the bill:

Marilyn Kofford, Utah PTA
Gary Cameron, Utah School Boards Association
Pat Rusk, Utah Education Association
Janet Cannon, Utah State Board of Education
Dave Herbertson, School and Institutional Trust Lands Association

MOTION:    Rep. Newbold moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed

unanimously, 14-0-1, with Rep. Shurtliff absent for the vote.

H.B. 46    Public Education Capital Outlay Act Amendments ( D. Cox )

    Rep. Cox introduced the bill which modifies the funding formula for the Capital
    Outlay Foundation Program. He distributed materials summarizing the bill and
    showing the future fiscal impact of the bill. Larry Newton, Utah State Office of
    Education, answered questions about the bill.
    Rep. Dayton, Chair, indicated that the committee would not be acting on the bill
    as a fiscal note was not available.

MOTION:    Rep. Ferrin moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously, 11-0-4, with Rep.
    Bigelow, Rep. Hogue, Rep. Shurtliff, and Rep. Urquhart absent for the vote.

Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 9:02 a.m.

            ____________________________                 Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair