Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes



Room W010 - State Capitol Complex

January 25, 2005

    Rep. James A. Ferrin, Chair
        Rep. Erik K. Hutchings, Vice Chair    
        Rep. Douglas C. Aagard
        Rep. Glenn A. Donnelson
        Rep. Ben C. Ferry
        Rep. Lorie D. Fowlke
        Rep. Ann W. Hardy
        Rep. Neal B. Hendrickson
        Rep. David L. Hogue
        Rep. Susan Lawrence
        Rep. Rosalind J. McGee
        Rep. Ross Romero
        Rep. Scott L. Wyatt
STAFF PRESENT:    Jerry D. Howe, Policy Analyst
        Greta Rodebush, Committee Secretary             

NOTE:    A list of visitors and handouts are filed with the committee minutes.     

Representative Hutchings called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

MOTION:    Representative Hogue moved to approve the minutes of January 19, 2005. The         motion passed unanimously with Representatives Donnelson, Ferry, Fowlke, Hendrickson, and Lawrence absent for the vote.

H.B. 59    Domestic Violence Enhancement (Rep. C. Moss)

Representative Moss introduced the bill and explained its intent. She was assisted by Paul Boyden, Executive Director, Statewide Prosecutors Association.

Bill Clayton, Gun Owners of Utah, spoke to the bill.

MOTION:    Representative Ferrin moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed
        unanimously with Representative Ferry absent for the vote.

H.B. 73    Local Referendum Requirements (Rep. D. Hogue)

Representative Hogue introduced the bill and explained its intent.

The following members of the public spoke in opposition to the bill:

    Mont Evans, Mayor, City of Riverton
    Lincoln Shurtz, Legislative Analyst, Utah League of Cities and Towns
    Chris Kyler, Chief Executive Officer, Utah Association of Realtors

MOTION:    Representative Lawrence moved to proceed to the next item on the agenda. The         motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Representative Hogue moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

    Representative Hutchings adjourned the meeting at 3:25 pm.

Rep. James A. Ferrin, Chair