Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes

                     MINUTES OF THE HOUSE

Room W025, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

February 23, 2005

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. Sheryl L. Allen, Chair    
                    Rep. Fred R. Hunsaker, Vice Chair
                    Rep. Bradley M. Daw
                    Rep. Lorie D. Fowlke                
                    Rep. Brent H. Goodfellow
                     Rep. Aaron Tilton
                    Rep. David Ure
                    Rep. Larry B. Wiley

MEMBERS ABSENT:        Rep. Ralph Becker        
                    Rep. Ben C. Ferry
                    Rep. Michael E. Noel
                    Rep. Richard Wheeler            

            Richard North, Policy Analyst
                    Linda Black, Committee Secretary        

NOTE:    A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Representative Allen called the meeting to order at 4:22 p.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Goodfellow moved to approve the minutes of February 22, 2005. The motion passed unanimously.

2nd Sub. S.B. 199    Office of Energy - Oversight (Sen. T. Hatch)

Sen. Hatch presented the bill with the assistance of Chris Roybal, Office of the Governor.

Spoke to the bill:    Dianne Nielson, Exec. Director, Department of Environmental Quality
            Jeanenne Larson, Office of Legislative Research
            Terrah Anderson, Governor's Office of Planning and Budget
            Beverly Miller, Director, Utah Clean Cities
            Sarah Wright, Director, Utah Clean Energy

Spoke in opposition
of the bill:        Mark Clemens, Liaison, Sierra Club/Utah

MOTION:    Rep. Tilton moved to pass the bill out favorably with the recommendation of further discussion during interim. The motion passed with Rep. Goodfellow, and Rep. Wiley voting in opposition.

                             Rep. Sheryl L. Allen, Chair