! The Capitol Complex is closed to the public due to COVID-19. All meetings will be held virtually online. View procedures and guidelines (PDF) for remote public comment and virtual meeting instructions (PDF).

Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes

                    MINUTES OF THE HOUSE
Room W025, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex
February 4, 2005

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. David N. Cox, Chair
                    Rep. Steven R. Mascaro, Vice Chair         
Rep. Roger E. Barrus                    
                    Rep. Karen W. Morgan
                    Rep. Mark W. Walker
                    Rep. Peggy Wallace
MEMBERS ABSENT:        Rep. Brent H. Goodfellow     

STAFF PRESENT:            Arthur L.Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
                    Linda Error, Committee Secretary

Note:     A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Mascaro called the meeting to order at 8:03 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Wallace moved to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2005 meeting. The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Barrus and Rep. Morgan absent for the vote.

S.B. 7    Funding for Tourism (Sen. S. Jenkins)

Sen. Jenkins explained the bill with the assistance of Nan Anderson, Utah Tourism Industry Coalition.

Spoke for the bill:    Leigh von der Esch, Assistant Director, Utah Travel Council
            Randall Harmsen, Chairman, Utah Travel Development Board
            Megan Holbrook, Chairman, Air Travel Commission

MOTION:    Rep. Wallace moved to add the following names as co-sponsors to S.B. 7:

    Ron Allen             Dan R. Eastman        Sheldon L Killpack
    Patrice M. Arent        Beverly Ann Evans        Peter C. Knudson
    Gregory S. Bell         Fred J. Fife            Ed Mayne
    Curtis Bramble        Thomas V. Hatch        Howard A. Stephenson
    D. Chris Buttars        Parley G. Hellewell        John L. Valentine
    Allen M Christensen        John W. Hickman
    Mike Dmitrich        Lyle W. Hillyard

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. Morgan moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. Cox moved that the committee saunter while waiting for the sponsor of the next bill. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Mascaro reconvened the meeting at 8:40 a.m.

S.J.R. 6    Space Exploration Resolution (Sen. P. Knudson)

Sen. Knudson explained the resolution.

MOTION:    Rep. Cox moved to pass the resolution out favorably. The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Morgan absent for the vote.

MOTION:    Rep. Cox moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Morgan absent for the vote.

Rep. Mascaro adjourned the meeting at 8:45 a.m.

                                Rep. David N. Cox, Chair