TO:                   Members of the House Education Standing Committee

FROM:             Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair

                          Rep. LaVar Christensen, Vice Chair

RE:                    Committee Meeting


                                       DATE:             Thursday, February 23, 2006

                                       TIME:              5:00 PM

                                       PLACE:           Room W125, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex*

                                       *NOTE ROOM CHANGE

- Call to order and approval of minutes of February 21, 2006

- The following bills are scheduled for consideration:

1.    SJR009             Resolution Recognizing Right to Participate in Religious Expressions in Public Schools (P. Hellewell)(jlw/alh)

2.    HB0447            Educator Phonics Requirements (D. Cox)(dsl/ccs)

3.    HB0340            Education Funding Amendments (B. Dee)(dsl/ccs)

4.    HB0435            School Reporting Amendments (K. Morgan)(dsl/ccs)

5.    HB0437            Interpreters for Hearing Impaired (K. Morgan)(ecm/jdh)

6.    HCR001           Early Childhood Reading Readiness Resolution (K. Morgan)(jlw/alh)

7.    SB0056S01       Secondary School Amendments (D. C. Buttars)(dsl/ccs)

8.    SB0072S01       Home School and Dual Enrollment Amendments (M. Madsen)(dsl/ccs)

9.    HB0310            Beginning Teacher Induction (R. Menlove)(dsl/ccs)

10.  HB0190            School Discipline Research Project (L. Fowlke)(dsl/ccs)

11.  HB0185            Education Accountability (D. Bourdeaux)(dsl/ccs)

12.  HB0134            Class Size Reduction (C. Moss)(dsl/ccs)


Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair

Rep. LaVar Christensen, Vice Chair

Rep. Ron Bigelow

Rep. Duane E. Bourdeaux

Rep. John Dougall

Rep. James A. Ferrin

Rep. James R. Gowans

Rep. David L. Hogue

Rep. Kory M. Holdaway

Rep. Gregory H. Hughes

Rep. Bradley T. Johnson

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss

Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold

Rep. LaWanna Lou Shurtliff

Rep. Stephen H. Urquhart

Committee Analyst: Constance C. Steffen, Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel

Committee Secretary: Barbara Thomas