Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 4K bytes




Room W135 - West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

                     February 1, 2006

MEMBERS PRESENT:     Rep. Wayne A. Harper, Chair
                Rep. Glen A. Donnelson, Vice Chair                 
                Rep. Sheryl L. Allen
                Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove
                 Rep. Craig A. Frank                      
                 Rep. Fred R. Hunsaker
                Rep. Bradley G. Last
                Rep. Rebecca Lockhart
                Rep. Roz McGee
                 Rep. Carol Spackman Moss                
                 Rep. Joseph G. Murray                 
                 Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold
                Rep. Patrick L. Painter
                Rep. Ross I. Romero                         
                Rep. Gordon E. Snow                      
STAFF:            Bryant Howe, Assistant Director
                Rosemary Young, Secretary
Note:    A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Vice Chair Donnelson called the meeting to order at 8:40 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Hunsaker moved to approve the minutes of the January 30, 2006 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Cosgrove, Rep. Last, Rep. Lockhart, Rep. McGee, Rep. Moss, and Rep. Newbold absent for the vote.

H.B. 309    Municipal Energy Sales and Use Tax Amendments (Rep. G. Hughes)

Rep. Hughes explained that because a substitute bill is being prepared he was not bringing HB 309 before the committee today.

H.J.R. 17    Resolution Regarding Judicial Power (Rep. G. Hughes)

Rep. Hughes introduced the resolution and explained it to the committee. Richard Schwermer, Administrative Office of the Courts, spoke against the resolution. Mike Jerman, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke in favor of the resolution.

MOTION:    Rep. Frank moved to transmit the resolution with a favorable recommendation.

    Rep. Snow moved to refer the resolution to the Constitutional Revision Commission and to interim for further study. The motion passed with Rep. Frank, Rep. Lockhart, Rep. Newbold, Rep. Painter, Rep. Harper, and Rep. Donnelson voting in opposition.

Vice Chair Donnelson adjourned the meeting at 9:16 a.m.

                            Rep. Wayne A. Harper, Chair