Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Wednesday, February 15, 2006
Utah State Capitol Complex, West Office Building, Suite W015

Members Present:        Sen. Michael Waddoups, Chair        
                Sen. Fred Fife
                Sen. Thomas Hatch
                Sen. Scott McCoy
                Sen. Darin Peterson

Member Excused:        Sen. Beverly Evans

Staff Present:            J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst    
                Saundra Maeser, Secretary

Public Speakers Present:    Leonard Blackham, Commissioner, Dept. of Agriculture and Food
                Walt Baker, Director, Division of Water Quality
                Dianne Nielson, Executive Director, Dept. of Environmental Quality
                Todd Bingham, Vice President of Policy, Utah Farm Bureau Federation

A list of visitors is filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Waddoups called the meeting to order at 9:18 a.m.

1. Approval of Minutes    

     MOTION: Sen. McCoy moved to approve the minutes of February 13, 2006.

    The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Fife and Sen. Hatch absent at the time of voting.

2. S.B. 228 Special Revenue Fund for Salinity Offset Program (Sen. P. Knudson)
    Sen. Peter Knudson introduced the bill. Leonard Blackham, Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Food, assisted in the presentation.

    Walt Baker, Director, Division of Water Quality, answered questions from the committee.

    Dianne Nielson, Executive Director, Department of Environmental Quality; and Todd Bingham, Utah Farm Bureau Federation, spoke in support of the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Peterson moved to pass S.B. 228, Special Revenue Fund for Salinity Offset Program, out favorably.

    The motion passed unanimously.

     MOTION: Sen. Peterson moved to adjourn.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    Chair Waddoups adjourned the meeting at 9:39 a.m.

    Minutes reported by Saundra Maeser, Secretary

                 Michael Waddoups, Committee Chair