Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 4K bytes

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 18, 2006 - 8:3 0 A.M.
Room W015, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

Members Present:        Sen. Carlene Walker, Committee Chair
            Sen. Dan Eastman
            Sen. Fred Fife
            Sen. Peter Knudson
            Sen. Mark Madsen
Members Excused:    Sen. Beverly Evans
            Sen. Ed Mayne
Staff Present:        Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
            Bonnie Brinton, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present:    Nicole Toomey Davis, Director, Centers of Excellence

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Walker called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

1.     S.B. 22 Department of Community and Culture Amendments (P. Knudson)

This bill was not considered.

2.    S.B. 112 Centers of Excellence Amendments
(T. Hatch)

    Sen. Hatch presented the bill and proposed amendments to the bill. He was assisted by Nicole Toomey Davis, Director, Centers of Excellence.

     MOTION: Sen. Knudson moved to accept the proposed amendments to S.B. 112. The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Eastman and Madsen absent for the vote.

     MOTION: Sen. Knudson moved to pass S.B. 112, as amended, out of committee with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

3.    S.B. 120 Governor's Rural Partnership Board Amendments (T. Hatch)

Sen. Hatch presented the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Eastman moved to pass S.B. 120 out of committee with a favorable     recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

     MOTION: Sen. Knudson moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

    Chair Walker adjourned the meeting at 8:55 a.m.

    Minutes were reported by Bonnie Brinton, Secretary.

Sen. Carlene Walker, Committee Chair