Download Zipped Enrolled WordPerfect HB0288.ZIP
[Introduced][Status][Bill Documents][Fiscal Note] [Bills Directory]

H.B. 288 Enrolled





Chief Sponsor: Brad L. Dee

Senate Sponsor: Jon J. Greiner

             7      LONG TITLE
             8      General Description:
             9          This bill addresses membership in the Utah 911 Committee.
             10      Highlighted Provisions:
             11          This bill:
             12          .    provides additional members to the Utah 911 Committee; and
             13          .    makes technical changes.
             14      Monies Appropriated in this Bill:
             15          None
             16      Other Special Clauses:
             17          None
             18      Utah Code Sections Affected:
             19      AMENDS:
             20          53-10-601, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2005, Chapter 169
             22      Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
             23          Section 1. Section 53-10-601 is amended to read:
             24           53-10-601. Utah 911 Committee.
             25          (1) There is created within the division, the Utah 911 Committee consisting of the
             26      following [15] 18 members:
             27          (a) a representative from each of the following primary emergency public safety
             28      answering points:
             29          (i) Salt Lake County;

             30          (ii) Davis County;
             31          (iii) Utah County; [and]
             32          (iv) Weber County; and
             33          (v) Washington County;
             34          (b) [four] six members representing the following primary emergency public safety
             35      answering points:
             36          (i) Bear River Association;
             37          (ii) Uintah Basin Association;
             38          (iii) South East Association;
             39          (iv) Six County Association;
             40          (v) Five County Association; and
             41          (vi) Mountainlands Association, not including Utah County;
             42          (c) the following people with knowledge of technology and equipment that might be
             43      needed for an emergency public safety answering system:
             44          (i) a representative from a local exchange carrier;
             45          (ii) a representative from a rural incumbent local exchange carrier; and
             46          (iii) two representatives from radio communications services as defined in Section
             47      69-2-2 ;
             48          (d) two representatives from the Department of Public Safety, one of whom represents
             49      urban Utah and the other rural Utah; and
             50          (e) a representative from the Department of Technology Services, created in Title 63F,
             51      Chapter 1.
             52          (2) (a) Each committee member shall be appointed as follows:
             53          (i) a member described in Subsection (1)(a) shall be appointed by the governor from a
             54      nominee or nominees submitted to the governor by the council of government for that member's
             55      county;
             56          (ii) the [four] six members described in Subsection (1)(b) shall be appointed by the
             57      governor from a nominee or nominees submitted to the governor by the associations described

             58      in Subsection (1)(b) as follows:
             59          (A) the six associations shall select by lot, the first four associations to begin the
             60      rotation of membership as required by Subsection (2)(b)(i); and
             61          (B) as each association is represented on the commission in accordance with Subsection
             62      (2)(b)(i), that association shall select the person to represent it on the commission;
             63          (iii) the members described in Subsection (1)(c) shall be appointed by the governor with
             64      the consent of the Senate; and
             65          (iv) the members described in Subsections (1)(d) and (e) shall be appointed by the
             66      governor.
             67          (b) The term of office of each member is four years, except as provided in Subsections
             68      (2)(b)(ii) through (iv).
             69          (i) The representatives from Subsection (1)(b) must rotate to provide each geographic
             70      location at least one representative every four years, except as provided for the initial
             71      appointment under Subsection (2)(b)(ii).
             72          (ii) The associations listed in Subsection (1)(b) shall select by lot, two of its members to
             73      an initial two-year term.
             74          (iii) The governor shall appoint two representatives from Subsection (1)(c) to initial
             75      two-year terms.
             76          (iv) The public service answering points listed in Subsection (1)(a) shall, by lot, select
             77      two members to serve an initial two-year term.
             78          (c) No member of the committee may serve more that two consecutive four-year terms.
             79          (d) Each mid-term vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as
             80      an appointment under Subsection (2)(a).
             81          (3) (a) Committee members shall elect a chair from their number and establish rules for
             82      the organization and operation of the committee, with the chair rotating among representatives
             83      from Subsections (1)(a), (b), and (d) every year.
             84          (b) Staff services to the committee:
             85          (i) shall be provided by the division; and

             86          (ii) may be provided by local entities through the Utah Association of Counties and the
             87      Utah League of Cities and Towns.
             88          (c) Funding for staff services shall be provided with funds approved by the committee
             89      from those identified under Section 53-10-605 .
             90          (4) (a) No member may receive compensation or benefits for the member's service on
             91      the committee.
             92          (b) A member is not required to give bond for the performance of official duties.

[Bill Documents][Bills Directory]