Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Room WO25, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex
January 23, 2008

Members Present:    Rep. DeMar "Bud" Bowman, Chair
            Rep. Curt Oda, Vice Chair
         Rep. David Litvack
            Rep. Becky Lockhart            
            Rep. Michael Morley
            Rep. Paul Ray            
            Rep. Jennifer Seelig
            Rep. Ken Sumsion
            Rep. Carl Wimmer
Members Absent:    Rep. Brad Dee`
Members Excused:    Rep. Larry Wiley

Staff Present:    Mr. Stewart Smith, Policy Analyst
            Ms. Linda Black, Committee Secretary

note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Bowman called the meeting to order at 8:15 a.m.

H.B. 95    Document Fraud - Establishing Legal Status (Rep. K. Morgan)

Rep. Morgan explained the bill.

Spoke to the bill:    Mr. Wade Farraway, Office of the Attorney General

MOTION:    Rep. Litvack moved to proceed to the next item on the agenda.

MOTION:    Rep. Seelig moved that H.B. 95 be placed first on the agenda of the next committee meeting.

The motion passed unanimously.

H.B. 109    Sex Offender Law Amendments (Rep. G. Hughes)

This bill was not heard.

H.B. 256    Criminal Penalties Amendments - Including Jessica's Law (Rep. C. Wimmer)

Rep. Wimmer introduced the bill with the assistance of Mr. Paul Boyden, Executive Director, Statewide Association of Prosecutors.

MOTION:    Rep. Ray moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

H.B. 264    Prohibition of Citation Quotas (Rep. N. Hansen)

Rep. Hansen introduced the bill.

Spoke in opposition
to the bill:        Mr. Val Shupe, Chief of Police, South Ogden City
            Mr. Ken Wallentine, Chair, State Law Enforcement, Attorney General's             Office (handout)
            Mr. Mark Johnson, Ogden City Management Services Director
            Mr. Lincoln Shurtz, Utah League of Cities and Towns
            Mr. Toby Bath, Councilman, Lindon City

Spoke in favor
of the bill:        Ms. Jenny Hansen, citizen
            Mr. David Ure, citizen
            Mr. Jason Jones, citizen


Rep.Seelig moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Rep. Ray voting in opposition. Rep. Litvack and Rep. Lockhart were absent for the vote.

MOTION:    Rep. Sumsion moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Litvack and Rep. Lockhart absent for the vote. Rep. Bowman adjourned the meeting at 945 a.m.


                        Rep. DeMar "Bud" Bowman, Chair