Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Tuesday, February 12, 20088
Utah State Capitol, Room C415

Members Present:        Sen. Darin Peterson, Chair        
                Sen. Allen Christensen
                Sen. Margaret Dayton
                Sen. Fred Fife
                Sen. Dennis Stowell
                Sen. Michael Waddoups

Member Excused:        Sen. Gene Davis        
Staff Present:            J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst    
                Saundra Maeser, Secretary

Public Speakers Present:    Vern Loveless, Engineer, Water Rights Consultant
                Bruce Clegg, Tooele County Commissioner
                Dallin Jensen, Attorney
                Steven Clyde, Attorney, Central Utah Water District
                Tom Clawson, Attorney, Leucadia Financial Corporation
                Carly Burton, Executive Director, Utah Water Users Association
                Tammy Beckstead, Property Owner
                Jerry Olds, State Engineer, Division of Water Rights
                Bruce Simon, Property Owner
                John Mabey, Attorney
A list of visitors is filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Peterson called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

1.    Approval of Minutes

Sen. Christensen moved to approve the minutes of February 8, 2008. The motion passed with Sen. Dayton and Sen. Waddoups absent for the vote.

2. S.B. 85 Water Rights Board (Sen. D. Stowell)

Sen. Dennis Stowell introduced the bill.

    The following spoke in support of the bill:
    Vern Loveless, Engineer, water rights consultant
    Bruce Clegg, Tooele County Commissioner
    Tom Clawson, Leucadia Financial Corporation
    Tammy Beckstead, property owner
    Bruce Simon, property owner

    The following spoke in opposition to the bill:
    Dallin Jensen, Attorney
    Steven Clyde, Attorney, Central Utah Water District
    Carly Burton, Executive Director, Utah Waters Users Association
    Jerry Olds, State Engineer, Division of Water Rights
    John Mabey, Attorney
     MOTION: Sen. Christensen moved to pass S.B. 85, Water Rights Board, out favorably.     The motion passed with Sen. Fife and Sen. Waddoups voting in opposition.

     MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

    Chair Peterson adjourned the meeting at 9:57 a.m.

    Minutes reported by Saundra Maeser, Secretary

                 Darin G. Peterson, Committee Chair