Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 3K bytes

Room WO20, House Building, State Capitol Complex
January 27, 2009

Members Present:    Rep. Michael Noel, Chair
            Rep. Brad Winn, Vice Chair
            Rep. Roger Barrus
            Rep. Mel Brown
            Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck            
            Rep. Lorie Fowlke
            Rep. Jim Gowans
            Rep. Lynn Hemingway            
            Rep. Chris Herrod
            Rep. Fred Hunsaker
            Rep. Ryan Wilcox
Members Absent:    None

Staff Present:    Richard North, Policy Analyst
            Cherri White, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.
Representative Noel called the meeting to order 2:10 pm and asked that the committee members introduce themselves.

H.B. 75    Utah Communications Agency Network Amendments (Rep. F. Hunsaker)

Representative Hunsaker introduced the bill, and explained its intent.

Steve Proctor, Executive Director, Utah Communications Agency Network, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:    Representative Fowlke moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously.

H.B. 216    Telecommunication Pricing Flexibility Amendments (Rep. F. Hunsaker)
Representative Hunsaker introduced the bill and explained its intent.

Jerry Finn, President, Qwest - Utah, spoke in favor of the bill

Michelle Beck, Director, Committee of Consumer Services, spoke to the bill, noting some

concerns by some of the members of the board.

Betsy Wolfe, Salt Lake Community Action Program, spoke against the bill, she also indicated that AARP, while not in attendance, also was opposed to the bill.

MOTION:     Representative Brown moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed 10-1 with Representative Chavez-Houck voting against the motion..

HB0245    Utah State 911 Committee Amendments (Rep. C. Oda)

The bill was held at the request of the sponsor.

MOTION:    Representative Hemingway moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 3:25 pm.

                    Michael Noel, Chair