Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

                    MINUTES OF THE HOUSE
Room W025, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

January 29, 2009

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. Steven Mascaro, Chair
                    Rep. Christopher Herrod, Vice Chair         
Rep. David Litvack
                    Rep. Kay McIff
                    Rep. F. Jay Seegmiller                
                     Rep. Kenneth Sumsion                
                    Rep. Christine Watkins

MEMBERS EXCUSED:        Rebecca Lockhart    
STAFF PRESENT:            Arthur L. Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
                    Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary

Note:     A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Re p. Mascaro called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Herrod moved to approve the minutes of the January 27, 2009 meeting. The         motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Litvack absent for the vote.

H.B. 91    Individual Development Account Amendments (Rep. F.J. Seegmiller)

MOTION:    Rep. McIff moved to amend the bill as follows:

1.    Page 2, Lines 54 through 57 :    

             54      not-for-profit organization into an individual development account.
             55          (b) Funds held in an individual development account may not be used in determining
             56      eligibility for assistance, or the amount of assistance to be received, in a state or federal
             57      means-tested program
  unless otherwise required by federal law or regulation       .

The motion to amend passed unanimously, with Rep. Litvack absent for the vote.

Rep. Seegmiller explained the bill to the committee. (handout)

Spoke for the bill:    Martha Wunderli, AAA Fair Credit Foundation
            Stan Rasmussen, Sutherland Institute
            Andrew Riggle, Sutherland Institute

MOTION:    Rep. Watkins moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended. The motion         passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. Herrod moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Mascaro adjourned the meeting at 9:15 a.m.

                    Steven R. Mascaro, Chair