Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 4K bytes

                    MINUTES OF THE HOUSE
Room W025, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

February 12, 2009

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. Steven Mascaro, Chair
                    Rep. Christopher Herrod, Vice Chair
                    Rep. David Litvack
                    Rep. Rebecca Lockhart
                    Rep. F. Jay Seegmiller                
                    Rep. Kenneth Sumsion
                    Rep. Christine Watkins

MEMBERS EXCUSED:        Rep. Kay McIff
STAFF PRESENT:            Arthur L. Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
                    Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary
Note:     A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Herrod called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Herrod moved to approve the minutes of the February 10, 2009 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Litvack and Rep. Mascaro absent for the vote.

H.B. 126    Voter Identification for Elections (Rep. B. Daw)

Rep. Daw introduced the bill to the committee.

MOTION:    Rep. Lockhart moved to delete in title and body H.B. 126 and replace it with 1st Substitute H.B. 126. The motion passed unanimously.

Spoke for the bill:        Ronald Mortensen, Citizen
                Mike Ostermiller, Sutherland Institute

Spoke against the bill:    Alice Larkin Steiner, League of Women Voters of Utah
                Andrew Riggle, Disability Law Center

MOTION:    Rep. Lockhart moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Rep. Litvack, Rep. Seegmiller, and Rep. Watkins voting in oposition.

MOTION:    Rep. Lockhart moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Herrod adjourned the meeting at 9:57 a.m.

                    Steven R. Mascaro, Chair