Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 6K bytes




Room 445 - State Capitol, State Capitol Complex

                     February 26, 2010

MEMBERS PRESENT:     Rep. Gage Froerer, Vice Chair
                 Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove
                 Rep. John Dougall                      
                 Rep. Susan Duckworth
                Rep. Julie Fisher
                Rep. Wayne Harper                 
                Rep. Eric Hutchings                  
                Rep. Christine Johnson
                 Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold                         
                Rep. Stephen Sandstrom
                Rep. Evan Vickers
MEMBERS ABSENT:      Rep. Sheryl Allen                
                 Rep. Greg Hughes
MEMBERS EXCUSED:     Rep. Todd Kiser, Chair
                 Rep. Carol Spackman Moss                          
                Rep. Jennifer Seelig
STAFF PRESENT:        Phil Dean, Policy Analyst
                Kathy Sorg, Secretary

Note:    A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Froerer called the meeting to order at 8:59 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Fisher moved to approve the minutes of the February 24, 2010 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

1st Sub. S.B. 133    Qualifications of State Tax Commissioners (Sen. J. S. Adams) (Rep. )

Sen. Adams explained the bill to the committee.

Spoke in favor of the bill:    Jacki Evans, Utah Taxpayers Association

Spoke to the bill:        Bruce Johnson, Utah Tax Commission

MOTION:    Rep. Newbold moved to pass 1st Sub. S.B. 133 with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. Dougall moved to place 1st Sub. S.B. 133 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously.

H.B. 394        Motor and Special Fuel Tax Act Amendments (Rep. S. Clark)

The bill was not considered.

MOTION:    Rep. Dougall moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Froerer adjourned the meeting at 9:10 a.m.

                            Rep. Todd E. Kiser, Chair