Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

                    MINUTES OF THE HOUSE
Room W025, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex
February 22, 2010

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. Steven Mascaro, Chair
                    Rep. Kay McIff, Vice Chair
                    Rep. Chris Herrod
                    Rep. David Litvack
                    Rep. Rebecca Lockhart
                    Rep. F. Jay Seegmiller
                    Rep. Kenneth Sumsion
                    Rep. Christine Watkins
STAFF PRESENT:            Arthur L. Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
                    Dora Soto, Committee Secretary
Note:     A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Mascaro called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Mascaro moved to approve the minutes of February 16, 2010 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Herrod absent for the vote.

H.B. 388    Mobile Home Revisions (Rep. J. Dunnigan)

Rep. Dunnigan explained the bill to the committee, assisted by Melinda Gurr, Advocate, Salt Lake Community Action Program. Laura Polacheck, AARP Utah, also commented.

MOTION:    Rep. Sumsion moved to replace H.B.388. with 1st Substitute H.B.388. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. McIff moved to amend 1st Substitute H.B.388 as follows:

1.    Page 4, Lines 88 through 89 :    

             88          (c) A park operator may
  reasonably       limit the frequency of a resident association's use of a common

             89      facility if the limitation
{   is no more restrictive than twice a month   }        allows use at least once per week       .

The motion to amend passed unanimously.

Spoke in favor of the bill: Richard McMullin, Kingsley Management
             Laura Polacheck, AARP Utah
             Myrah Close, Utah Housing Alliance
             Darren Menlove, Utah Housing Alliance

MOTION:    Rep. Litvack moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B.388. with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION:    Rep. Seegmiller moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Mascaro adjourned the meeting at 9:50 a.m.

                    Steven R. Mascaro, Chair